The Ignorance that Bans Love

When I work on my writing I have this weird habit of leaving either the television or radio on in the background. Today as I’m working on my newest manuscript I happened to glance up to see the Tyra Banks show is on and the subject being aired Is Gay the New Black? Curious I began watching and my heart dropped at the level of ignorance some of these anti-gay people have the nerve to spew from their mouths.

One particular woman, a white Christian stated that being gay was a disease. What the fuck? No seriously what the fuck kind of statement is that? To compare the way a person is born to a disease is about the most ignorant thing that any person can say. At least that’s what I thought. Another woman an African-American told entertainer Sam Harris, a gay married man with a child, that when he stated Prop 8 was a Civil Rights issue he was was wrong. That he couldn’t compare the two because he wasn’t being hung from a tree for being gay. Again what the fuck? People die everyday, victims of hate crimes perpetrated in the name of Christianity because of their sexual orientation and the color of their skin.

Sometimes I’m ashamed of this ignorance that permeates humanity. We’re in the 21st Century people get a grip. What right do you have as a Christian or any other religion for that matter to judge? I was raised by a woman who considered herself a Christian, even read the Bible when I was younger. If you want to throw the Bible around as an excuse for saying being gay is a disease or abomination I can toss back a few quotes that you conveniently over look. Doesn’t the Bible state:

Judge not, that ye be not judged.  For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.  And why beholdest thou the mote that is in thy brother’s eye, but considerest not the beam that is in thine own eye?  Matthew 7:1-3

The point of this statement is that you should look within yourself before judging another fellow human being. Those who throw around judgment and opinion with nothing to back it up should take a good long look in the mirror before opening their mouths.

Another quote that speaks of judging is the story of how the Pharisees brought a woman before Jesus who had be caught committing adultery. They were testing him and Jesus as always saw through their deception.

So when they continued asking him, he lifted up himself, and said unto them, He that is without sin among you, let him first cast a stone at her.  John 8:7

Of course the men in question were not without sin. Their own conscience got the better of them and they turned and walked away rather than confront Jesus further.

This last quote is not from the Bible. This is something my mother used to tell me. I grew up in the Bible Belt, a place of prejudice that ran deeper than the ocean. Somehow despite generations of burning crosses and white sheets, my mother grew to be a woman who knew that whatever higher power was out there was far more loving than some so-called Christians portrayed it. This was what she had to say to my siblings and I:

It doesn’t matter who we are in the eyes of those around us. We all are God’s children. Strip away the skin and we are all the same beneath–flesh, blood, and bone.

That was how I walked out of childhood and into adulthood.

A dear friend of mine when I was younger, an African-American girl, had problems with the way her mother treated her. She was watched like a hawk and if she wanted to go to anyone’s house her mother had to meet that person before it was allowed–especially if it were a white person. I met her mother and we connected. From that point forward she knew that her daughter was safe with me. I tried to explain to my friend that her mother had grown up in the Deep South before the Civil Rights movement. I told her the truth about what happened there, but she refused to believe it.

Fast forward a year and we’re both attending college. She decided to take a black history class and went to do research for a paper. I found her sitting outside the library sobbing. When I asked her what was wrong she pushed a book at me that she’d checked out. The book included such photos as that of a group of white men that had hanged a black man and posed as if the dead man were a deer. There were no words I could say that the photos she saw hadn’t. Finally she understood. We sat there holding one another for a good half-hour her tears soaking my shoulder as I stroked her back.

Perhaps those people who have the nerve to act as if hate crimes do not occur against the gay community should be forced to see in much the same way my friend did. After all a photo is worth a thousand words–isn’t it?

5 comments on “The Ignorance that Bans Love

  1. It is so sad. It has been said time and time again by those with a brain. Why does sexual preference or skin color matter? What about these characteristics holds a human being back from doing in anything in life? What likens these characteristics to deadly plague status?

    It is not for any other human being to judge their fellow man… why do we continue to do so?

    It makes no difference a skin color, or sexual preference. If this makes me an enabler and a heathen then strike me down and carry my soul to hell. Im a human being and last i checked anyone who is black or gay is one too.

    Its so sad that in this day and age we must continue to fight for EQUAL human rights.

  2. Thank you for commenting, Rhi.

    It just infuriates me that these type of people can get on national television, open their mouths, and let their ignorance flow out like lava. One of the young gay men who appeared on the show had me in tears. His father had used the Bible as an excuse to try and beat ‘the Devil’ out of him. He was put in the hospital by his own father and then abandoned.

    When will humanity just take a look in the mirror and ask themselves “What if it was me?’

    We’ve come a long way, but we still have miles to go before we find enlightenment at the end of the darkness.

  3. I’m sick of Christianity. Sorry, but I am. In my life out of all the Christians I’ve met, (including myself, I might add when I was a Christian), I’ve met only one who truly practices the love of the Christ. Her name is MaryAnn. She and I are like sisters, even though we know we are of different beliefs. I don’t know what her feelings on homosexuality are, but from a Pagan standpoint she has treated me with nothing less than unconditional love, and I can truly say I don’t see ‘Christianity’ when I see her, only the love that all men are supposed to have for one another. Only one Christian in the entire world of Christians I was involved with or seen since. Christians need to either ‘do what Jesus would do’ or shut the F*ck up!
    I’m sorry, but I had a run in with a Christian on Friday that just about made me want to vomit. It was not anything malicious or anything like that, but it was just so…self-righteous and looking down her nose at those who ‘do not believe’ the way she does. I can so see Jesus sitting there with his head in his hands moaning, “I never wanted this. I never wanted this. What are they doing to my name?”
    Dragging it through the mud, if you ask me.
    Jesse, I’m glad you were there for your friend, that day. It’s just so sad that this ignorance still exists in this world. I’m seriously hoping 2012 comes around fast. If it is going to be the end, then let it happen. Then again, right now, after hearing about this and not seeing the love of Christ expressed, I’m getting pretty fatalistic.
    Excuse me for venting, guys. I know I’ve probably stubbed a few toes if not altogether stepped on them, but this just really got my knickers in a twist.
    ~Myr~

    • No need to excuse yourself hon’. I often feel the same way. I’ve only met a hand full of what I would consider true Christians in my life.

      People like Pat Robertson and his ilk continue to preach what amounts to hate. One of my BF’s was a young man who was gay and still considered himself a Christian. He had a strength of faith that amazed me.

      Unfortunately, he passed before he ever saw thirty. I sometimes wonder what he would think about Prop 8 and the fury of hate that’s been unleashed over the idea that people no matter their sexual orientation should be allowed to marry.

Leave a Reply

