New Interview with Author C.H. Scarlett

Foxs-Den

Welcome to the August 30, 2009 installment of The Fox Hole, a place to sit, have a cup of Joe, and meet talented up and coming authors, artists, and other folks from the e-publishing industry.

Today I’m tickled to have as my guest fellow pagan and author of Bound by Blood: The Awakening C.H. Scarlett.

BBBcover

Available Now from Dark Roast Press

Welcome to the Fox Hole, Ms. Scarlett, pull up a chair and tell the readers a little bit about yourself.

Well, I grew up in Virginia and North Carolina. I currently live in the mountains of Virginia with my husband, three children, and four dogs. I am an eclectic Pagan and have been for the past 20-something years? I grew up in the Bible belt, but like some who hated that, I rather owe what I am to it. I am kind of a hermit and that sprang from how I grew up I guess. I just kind of keep to my own world and believe in the whole–live and let live bit.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

Yeah, even though the dream was put on hold and was not realistic concerning how I was brought up or where I live. Saying you wish to be a writer here is like saying, “I’m going to Hollywood to be the next Julia Roberts.” You kind of get laughed at or get snickers by those who know you and then there is the reality of paying the rent and electric [lol]. The responsibilities of life sweep you away quicker than achieving any dream. I am trying to make up for lost time now though.

As for when I started, that was at a young age. When I learned to write, I’d scribble down stories. I’d hand them to my teachers hoping for some direction, anything. Again, it was laughed off, but I kept going. My stories, my worlds, were a way to escape real life. Since I grew up in a rough environment, those worlds were my escape and my characters I considered family. Even though I stopped telling anyone I was doing it, I kept going. It became my own thing.

As a writer what inspires you?

Finding something to connect with inspired me in the beginning, but to go professional that would have to be my husband, kids, and my crone. My husband is the one person that has really pushed me concerning my writing while other people’s spouses or families are not so supportive. My family has never been supportive but my husband Jeff, or mountain man as I call him [lol] made up for that. If the laundry isn’t done or supper not cooked because I’m writing, he doesn’t say a word.

My Crone is like my sister, mother, and best friend. I met her a few years back online and she has become a huge part of my life. I doubt I would have gone professional if she didn’t push me so hard to do it and believe me, when a crone nags you to do something you damn well better do it. She even bought me a program once to help me edit my work. No one had ever invested anything in me before so I have to say that really rocked my foundations. She is the world in my eyes and will always tell me like it is. She is good for hugs and beatings I say [lol]. She hugs me and then she will break me if I don’t live up to my full potential. To me, that’s priceless.

There is something to be said when defining your children as well and I seen a certain talent of mine in each one of my kids. I didn’t want that wasted, but let’s face it, telling your kids they can be anything they want is like telling them not to use the phone when you’re not at home. They aren’t going to believe in themselves unless you prove it by example. Kids pick up the habits and characteristics of their parents whether we tell them to be different or not. I knew my kids had the same awareness as me so I knew there would come a day when one of mine said, “Yeah, so why don’t you practice what you preach mom? Why didn’t you do anything with your stories?” So here I am, trying to avoid that [lol].

Do you have any favorite writers?

Here’s the thing, I have favorite authors but not really in the genres that I write. I spend more time reading encyclopedias of certain subjects than anything else anymore. My first favorite author is Normandi Ellis. The book Awakening Osiris, a translation of the Egyptian Book of the Dead, didn’t nail the best sellers list but I have had two copies because it’s been so great. Some people have bibles and well I have that book. The author has a true gift with words, simple words, but by bringing forth a deep meaning from them. It’s hard to explain so I won’t try. I will say though that to me, the work screams for itself.

I absolutely love Barbara G. Walkers even though a lot of her stuff is very controversial but hey, I love controversy. Some favorites from my past do write fiction is V.C. Andrews and then some classics like Gone with the Wind. V.C. showed me that even though it was fiction, there were families more warped than mine [lol] were and Gone with the Wind…well some things are self-explanatory.

I like Stephen King and I have to say, even though I don’t write horror, I strive to have that man’s respect one day. The main thing I like about his books is his characters. King to me is more than horror. When he takes you into a town, he wants you to understand what makes that town which is its people. I mean to experience horror in a book is to experience it through the eyes of the characters, that way we know on a personal level why something can be so frightening.

How did you come to be with Dark Roast Press?

Christopher C. Newman. I met him before he went with Dark Roast Press and he referred me to them.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I would live in the worlds that I create in my stories [lol]. I don’t care how dangerous they are or insane, I’d be there in a heartbeat.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Hmm, I don’t think I can narrow this down to one thing [lol]. I’m a Southerner so anything that has died a second and third death in lard would be my thrill. I know our foods can get rather unhealthy but I would hate to die of absolutely nothing [lol] so being a health addict would make that difficult. So anything with butter, salt, and whatever other fixings, gets me to the table, I’m afraid.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Dorchester Publishing requested my manuscript The Web & the Willow, which is a paranormal, mystery/suspense, thriller dealing with the Shadow Phenomena that seems to have the paranormal world in a puzzling fix. I am told that will be a long wait, but hey, they requested a full manuscript so I can’t complain.

Right now, I am trying to finish a book called Wyntress Nyght’s Supernatural Crack, which is a dark, paranormal, satire. I wanted an adult book that had the sarcastic humor of Buffy the Vampire Slayer, with great characters like Spike (he was my favorite), splashed with the Gothic infatuation of the Addams Family. I also wanted to home in on lost addictions like Elvira but without the mind slips and more attitudes. The book takes place in Hell, which makes it a little like Dante’s Inferno lol if that tells you anything.

Then of course, there is Bound by Blood: The Sacrifice. I’m taking my time with this book because there are so many possibilities, yet I do not want it to be predictable. With some sequels, it becomes like a soap opera. The reader just knows what is going to happen and we put certain characters on pedestals, deciding what is beneath or above them. I hate that so I want to make sure things are unexpected and test the faith of my readers concerning my characters. In the end, I’m hoping that the readers go on a roller coaster, blind folded [lol].

Thank you so much for stopping by my little neck of the woods and I’ll keep an eye out for more from you in the future. Stop by again when you get a chance. 🙂

For more information about C.H. Scarlett and her work both current and forthcoming check out the following links:

Web site: http://chscarlett.net

Twitter: http://twitter.com/CHScarlett

Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/chscarlett

Blog: http://chscarlett.wordpress.com/

Updates Blog: http://apps.chscarlett.net/blog/


4 comments on “New Interview with Author C.H. Scarlett

  1. Thanks for commenting, helgaleena. It means a lot. 🙂

    I wanted to provide interviews that aren’t stiff and formal, but give the readers a chance to really get to know the person behind the writing.

  2. I really enjoyed this interview and learning more about you. I am a huge Buffy the Vampire Slayer fan too and I loved Spike. My husband bought me the DVD set of all the seasons and it was the best gift he ever gave me. LOL. Your books sound interesting.

    kelleyheckart.com

Leave a Reply

