New Interview with Author Christopher C. Newman

Foxs-Den

Welcome to the September 06, 2009 installment of The Fox Hole, a place to sit, have a cup of Joe, and meet talented up and coming authors, artists, and other folks from the e-publishing industry.

Today my guest is fellow Dark Roast Press author the prolific and talented Christopher C. Newman. He is a multi-house, multi-genre published writer who pulls no punches when it comes to shocking and titillating his readers.

Available at Dark Roast Press

Available at Dark Roast Press

Welcome to the Fox Hole, Christopher, pull up a chair and tell the readers a little bit about yourself.

I don’t write in any particular genre.  I started out in erotic/horror and recently I’ve been penning more sci-fi and modern works.  I wish I could write as fast as my mind comes up with things.  A fair warning kiddies…Uncle Chris doesn’t pull any punches…if a scene calls for violence and bloodshed I do it as much justice as I do my erotic scenes.  I’ve been known to shock people with my work.  I think my first review for The Curse of Albrecht Manor garnered a line from the reviewer that went something like “I found my jaw dropping to the floor numerous times.” I love a surprise ending and a shocking scene or three since their effect on a reader makes me happy.  I like these in the things I read so naturally they’re in the stuff I write.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I liked to write, never thought about doing if for money.  In about the eighth grade or so I began writing out Kolchak: the Night Stalker like stories that were snatched up by neighboring kids in study hall.  I’ve been penning Dungeon & Dragons and Battletech scenarios since I began role-playing in 1980.  Since someone has to write, direct, and describe the game for others to enjoy I found I had a knack for complex storylines, vivid characters, and seedy villains.

As a writer what inspires you?

Everything.  I’m not trying to be funny or cute, but literally, anything can start my wheels turning and often does.

Do you have any favorite writers?

Dear Goddess!  I don’t know if you have enough room for all this! Let’s start out with the top ten; Robert E. Howard, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, Richard Matheson, David Eddings, Elizabeth Moon, Anne McCaffrey, Neil Gaiman, Jim Butcher, Agatha Christie & J.K. Rowlings.

How did you come to be with Dark Roast Press?

I was working with Helgaleena on my Ravenswood series who was, back then, an editor with Aphrodite’s Apples when it folded unexpectedly.  She suggested I send my works to Rhiannon Rhodes, which I did.  I was lucky enough to be one of the original authors when they went live.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

The 1940s, life was simpler and the line between Good and Evil was clearly drawn.  Now one man’s hero is another’s terrorist.  Besides, I love the style of cars and clothing…I like wearing hats like tams and such.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Right now, it’s seafood, pasta, and/or a combination thereof.  My tastes change from day to day.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Dear me…I have about four works I’m toiling on!  Deviant Ark is probably my favorite and I’m looking forward to getting in out.  It deals with a futuristic setting on Mars where any form of religious or sexual deviancy has been outlawed by a very conservative world government.  Thrown into this mess is a spacecraft full of double-gendered aliens who end up being treated like the lower caste of their adopted society.

Jen’s Tale out now from Red Rose Publishing is a take on the alien spy stories frequenting the bookshelves and theaters.  However, my scout has had her brain uploaded into a human infant’s just after birth.  The secret agent is an adult looking in to our culture from an alien point of view.

LOVE: the Legion of Valiant Enforcers just received my final touches.  This one is about a fractured group of superheroes trying to come together to defeat a very nasty villain.  As usual in my books there is more going on than just super-powered mayhem since their relationships (and hidden fantasies) start getting in the way.

20 Smokes is my current project, a non-erotica about a man facing his worst fears in a cave with only a pack of cigarettes and a lighter.  This one’s about finding the time to get to know yourself, instead of worrying about what others think of you.

Finally (yes I do write a lot) Of Blood and Politics is the prequel to Uprising (another non-erotica) my zombie book with Dark Roast Press.  This one revolves around actual vampires, or the physical and mental changes and challenges that would needed to truly allow someone to dine on blood alone.  It is another social commentary, which finds a band of mutated humans striving to understand the changes they have undergone, and while they fight for their rights as people, factions in the group start to polarize and cause dissension.  In short, it’s about the loss of the fine art of compromise.  This one goes to Dark Roast Press very soon.  Somewhere during all this, I need to get back to the Ravenswood series and finish it off….I told you I write a lot! LOL

Well thank you so much for stopping by The Fox Hole and sharing with the readers. It’s been enjoyable and enlightening to take a peek inside your mind. Please feel free to come back anytime to update us. 🙂

For more information about Christopher C. Newman and his work both current and forthcoming check out the following links:

Word Press: http://christophercnewman.wordpress.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/chriscnewman

Myspace: http://www.myspace.com/swordforhire60

YouTube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/swordforhire60

Publishers:

Dark Roast Press: http://www.darkroastpress.com/

Red Rose Publishing: https://www.redrosepublishing.com/

Renaissance eBooks: http://shop.renebooks.com/

Leave a Reply

