Interview w/ Author Amanda Ashley

Welcome to a special Monday edition of The Fox Hole. My apologies to my guest Ms. Amanda Ashley. The closer we get to the holidays the crazier RL gets, as I am sure most of you know. Now that I’m done with my apologies and sad excuses for running behind *laughs* let me introduce you to multi-published author Anmanda Ashley.

Available in Stores Now

Available in Stores Now

I’m delighted to welcome you to The Fox Hole, Amanda. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Not a lot to tell. I was born and raised in Southern California and I’ve lived here all my life. I’m married and we have 3 sons, a Pomeranian, a wild sparrow, and a tortoise. I love to read, to write (obviously), go to the movies, and walk my dog. I also love to collect all things Star Wars. I’m also a big Beauty and the Beast fan. Lately, I’ve taken to collecting Jim Shore’s work, especially the patriotic pieces.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I started writing on a whim years ago because I was bored with TV. I never intended to sell anything. I guess you could call me a closet writer. I’d written 3 or 4 books before I even told anyone what I was doing. If a friend of mine hadn’t encouraged me to find a publisher, I’d probably still be writing stories and hiding them under the bed.

I wrote historical romances for Leisure Books for several years before I decided to try my hand at vampires.  I still love my Indian heroes, but I really love the freedom that comes with writing paranormal stories, the ability to just let my imagination run wild. And I love my bad boy vampires.

As a writer what inspires you?

Gerard Butler

Do you have any favorite writers?

Yes, I love Jim Butcher’s Dresden Files series and Charlaine Harris’s Sookie books.  I’m always waiting for the next one. I also like Patricia Briggs, Lori Handeland, Maggie Shayne, and Heather Graham.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Right here, right now, although it might be nice to go back to the Fifties if I could take my family with me. It really was the very best time of all.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Oh, yeah, more than one! I love spaghetti, bread, and dark chocolate.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Immortal Sins is in stores now. My hero, Jason Rourke, is a vampire cursed by an angry wizard to remain trapped inside a painting until a woman calls him forth. I’d like to say it was my original idea, but I got it from a good friend of mine. It was fun to watch my 300 year old vampire adjust to life in the 21st century. And equally fun to watch my heroine adjust to life with a vampire.  I hope my readers will fall in love with Jason. I know I did.

I’m also very excited about my February book, Everlasting Kiss, and its sequel, currently titled Everlasting Love.

Well, on that note I would like to thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to speak with me. You are welcome to pop in anytime and share news with us. If you would like to discover more about the talented Amanda Ashley and her work check out the following links.

Mandy’s News & Notes

Amanda’s My Space

One comment on “Interview w/ Author Amanda Ashley

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview w/ Author Amanda Ashley « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

