Interview with Author Anne Kane

Welcome to the November 29, 2009 edition of The Fox Hole. I’m tickled to have as my guest today Canadian author Anne Kane. So grab a seat, a danish, and a cup of Joe and join me in giving Anne a warm welcome.

Available @ Changeling Press

Welcome to The Fox Hole Anne Kane. It’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Well, Jesse. I’m an author, which means I spend my spare time in places that don’t actually exist. I write erotic romance, and my favorite sub-genres are fantasy and science fiction, although I have written a couple of contemporary stories.

I do have an evil day job that takes up a lot of my time, but it pays the bills and keeps a roof over my head, so I can’t complain too much. I live in a rural part of British Columbia with an assortment of pets, including Sassi, a jack Russell Terrier that found me at a local animal shelter. She writes a column for the monthly Changleing Press ezine –  and promised to take me for a nice walk later if I mentioned it here. Like most of her breed, she’s very smart and had me house-trained in under a month.

I also have a twenty two pound Himalayan cat named Jeff. He too, found me at the animal shelter. I really have to stop going there. He hides behind furniture and attacks invisible aliens. I have managed to convince him that my legs are not aliens.  Since he outweighs the dog, they have negotiated a non aggression pact.

I also have a tank full of very happy guppies. I bought two of them in a moment of insanity several year ago. At six months intervals, I take every single one I can catch ( usually a hundred or so) to the local pet store and we start over again. I have no idea why they are so prolific.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I’ve always wanted to tell stories. I can’t remember when I first started writing them down, although I did submit one to a children’s magazine when I was twelve or  so. That was my first rejection. In hind sight, the rejection letter was very personal and I’m sure the editor tried to be as positive as she could, but I was crushed. I wish now that I had kept the letter. My next attempt was in my mid thirties when I wrote a really bad romance. I subbed it to Harlequin and got a standard rejection. Then life intervened and I didn’t start writing again until 2007. With a lot more time on my hands, and super support from new internet friends, I managed to learn a great deal about the craft of writing, and voila! I’m a published author.

As a writer what inspires you?

LOL, some days just about everything. I can look up at a spectacular sunset and start to phrase a description in my head, or I can see a couple on the beach and start speculating on who they are and why they are together. Sometimes, all it takes is a picture sent by one of my writing buddies.  (Thanks Pat!)

Do you have any favorite writers?

Gosh, yes. Almost too many to count. I hesitate to name names, because I know I’m going to miss some but here’s a few. Angela Knight, Kelley Armstrong, Christine Feehan, Sue Grafton, Karen Dales, Terry Spears, John Grisham, Michele Bardsley, Terry Brooks, Dakota Cassidy, Kate Douglas… and the list goes on.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I think I’d like to live in the future on a starship amongst the stars. I’d love to explore all new and wonderful worlds that currently only live in my imagination.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Oh I’d have to say cheesecake. My favorite is New York style  with cherry topping. Very bad for me, I know, but I still love it.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

My latest work is Seducing Destiny, which was my very first werewolf story. It’s part of the new Sex and Chocolate series from Changeling Press and I’m really excited about it. I enjoyed writing it and really hope the readers enjoy it too.  You can see the blurb and excerpt here (and you can even buy it if you like!)

BUY LINK “SEDUCING DESTINY”

Thank you so much for stopping by Anne and sharing yourself and your work with the readers. You’re welcome to come back anytime to chat again. If you would like to learn more about Anne and her work check out the links below:

www.AnneKane.com

annekane.wordpress.com

www.twitter.com/annekane

www.facebook.com/anne.kane.author

One comment on “Interview with Author Anne Kane

  1. Pingback: Vita Chambers Jack Russell Terriers

Leave a Reply

