Interview with Shakir Rashaan

Welcome to the December 06, 2009 edition of The Fox Hole. As we head into the Holiday Season I have a plate of fresh baked sugar cookies and a pot of hot chocolate on the burner. The best part though is I have as my guest publisher and author Shakir Rashaan as my guest this afternoon. So grab a sugar cookie, a cup of hot chocolate, and pull up a seat for the first official holiday interview. So let’s quit wasting time and get to it. *wink*

Available @ Kemi-Ka Publishing

Available @ Kemi-Ka Publishing

Welcome to The Fox Hole Shakir Rashaan, it’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Well, let’s see, I’m a writer of primarily BDSM erotica, but I have also begun venturing into murder/mystery and I have a book project that I am conceiving that is sci-fi erotica as well. My wife and I created our publishing company, Kemi-Ka Publishing, so that I could publish my works and we could perhaps begin publishing other authors of BDSM erotica and other genres of an erotic nature. I currently reside in Atlanta, Georgia with my wife and children, and my wife and I are active within the local BDSM community here as well.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

While I’ve been writing since high school, I can’t say that I always wanted to be a writer. I liked the idea that I could paint pictures with the worlds that I used and put together, and friends started liking a lot of the stuff that I was writing, but at the time that I first got the bug to publish, the self-publishing route was not available at that time, and I wasn’t in the mood to start receiving those endless rejection letters, so I put a lot of it on the back burner. It wasn’t until recently that we decided to go full bore and make this into a second career and business.

As a writer what inspires you?

Actually, what inspires me to write might be different things that I read on the Internet, it might be different

Coming in December 2009

conversations that I have with friends and associates, and sometimes my friends might say “hey, what about if you did this” and they would tell me the type of character that might interest them, and I would do a brainstorming session and see if I could make that character come to life or not.

Do you have any favorite writers?

Yes, I do! The list for me starts with Eric Jerome Dickey, the late E. Lynn Harris, Walter Moseley, and I also read different things from John Grisham because I’m into the law enforcement aspects of his writings, also Stephen King when I really want something outside of the box. There are honestly a lot of writers that I get into because I don’t like to restrict what I read to just a few things.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Honestly, ancient Egypt would be the place that I would live in, during the Pharaonic period, when Egypt was at its peak. I am completely immersed in the culture, the beauty, the education, everything about it. I’m thinking about writing a book with ancient Egypt as the backdrop, but that’s some time down the road, I think.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Okay, now that’s a new one on me! I have a 1a and 1b, and that would be seafood and steak. Surf and turf, definitely!

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

The first of my works is a novel entitled Chronicles of the Nubian Underworld: The Awakening, which we published back in March of this year. It is the first of a series that concentrates primarily on the life of a BDSM lifestyle Dominant Couple of Color. I set the backdrop in Atlanta (for obvious reasons of course), but subsequent books in the series will have the couple traveling to different locales, to continue the series.

I also have one in the final editing stages now called Deviant Intent: Obsession, which focuses on a former police detective-turned-private investigator that takes BDSM-related cases that the police departments aren’t exactly experienced in solving. We’re looking to release that one in December, hopefully in time for Christmas!

Both books and others from me are available at http://kemikauniverse.com and we also have Chronicles of the Nubian Underworld: The Awakening available at both Barnes & Noble and Amazon websites for purchase as well.

Well that’s all the time we have for today. Thank you, Shakir for taking the time to visit us and sharing a small part of yourself. We’ll be keeping an eye out for the release of Deviant Intent: Obsession. I’m sure we’ll be hearing more from you and you’re welcome to pop by The Fox Hole anytime.

Join me next Sunday when I interview multi-published author Jenna Byrnes. Until then take care and keep on reading!

Leave a Reply

