Interview w/ Author Jenna Byrnes

Welcome to the December 13, 2009 edition of The Fox Hole. The Holidays are drawing closer and before we know it Christmas Eve will be glaring at us and we’ll remember who we forgot on our “Nice List” or in my case my “Naughty List”‘. So before the family invades and the panic sets in grab a sugar cookie, a cup of hot chocolate, and pull up a seat for a lovely chat with multi-published author Jenna Byrnes.

Available @ Total E-Bound

Welcome to The Fox Hole Jenna, it’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Hi Jesse, thanks for having me here today. I’m the author of over forty ebooks, with several titles in print. I always write contemporary, my favorite genres are gay erotic romance and romantic suspense. Here’s my official bio:

Jenna Byrnes could use more cabinet space and more hours in a day. She’d fill the kitchen with gadgets her husband purchases off TV and let him cook for her to his heart’s content. She’d breeze through the days adding hours of sleep, and more time for writing the hot, erotic romance she loves to read.

Jenna thinks everyone deserves a happy ending, and loves to provide as many of those as possible to her gay, lesbian and hetero characters. Her favorite quote, from a pro-gay billboard, is “Be careful who you hate. It may be someone you love.”

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

My first novel was written on notebook paper bound together with orange yarn, when I was ten. I’ve joked a lot about that first masterpiece. I really should have kept it, but the last time I looked at it, it made me cringe. I took up writing again seriously in 2005, and was published in 2006. Currently I write for Total E-Bound, Phaze, Noble Romance, Freya’s Bower and A Woman’s Goodnight Audio site.

As a writer what inspires you?

Music is a good one. I get lots of ideas from listening to the oldies station. Someone walking down the street often piques my interest. I think people are much more mysterious from a distance. When I don’t know anything about them, I can create my own stories.

Do you have any favorite writers?

My favorite author would have to be my friend and co-author Jude Mason. She writes great stuff, and I have the joy of proofing and editing it for her. I also enjoy Carol Lynne, AKM Miles, Michelle Houston, D. Musgrave and Kaenar Langford. I’ve made so many author friends I hate to leave names out, but you can find links to many of them on my website.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

The future is overwhelming, so I don’t think I’d like to be thrust into a time there. I need to grow into technology. I like my creature comforts, so I hesitate to go too far back into the past. The fifties and sixties were a simpler time, but there weren’t computers and microwaves, so I think I’ll stay where I am!

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

I love cooking reality shows on TV! Hell’s Kitchen and Top Chef are my favorite. Having said that, I must admit I don’t have a very sophisticated palate. My favorite foods (there are many) include pizza and chocolate cake.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

I’ve written a variety of genres including paranormal with ghosts and animal shifters. But I have to admit that my favorite stories are romantic suspense with handsome, gay cops. My latest story from Total E-Bound is called Night Shift. Here’s the set-up:

Tracking a murderer on the streets of Chicago, two strong-willed detectives must work together on the case, as well as they get along in the bedroom.

Cover Blurb – Homicide Detective Cullen Ryder is worried. Someone is brazenly killing drug pushers on the grimy backstreets of Chicago. When the monthly murders jump to weekly and draw the focus of the chief of police, the Chicago P.D. starts jumping, too. The chief assigns a special task force to the case, much to Ryder’s chagrin.

Handsome, dark-skinned Trevor Stone has testosterone and attitude to spare. As the head of the task force, he marches in giving orders right and left. Ryder doesn’t like being bossed around, but he does like Stone. Maybe a little too much. When he discovers the feelings are mutual and the men fall into bed, neither is sure where the relationship is headed. Both know one thing—there’s a murderer on the loose whom they need to catch, before he catches up with them.

Find an excerpt or purchase HERE

Thanks again for having me at the Fox Hole! I hope your readers will check out my website for current titles, and a bunch that are coming soon!

I’m sure my readers will. I’ve enjoyed our chat and you’re welcome to come back anytime just to sit and chat. For my readers if you’d like to learn more about Jenna, her published, and upcoming work check out the links below:

Author website: http://www.jennabyrnes.com/

Jenna on Fire blog: http://jennabyrnes.blogspot.com/

Hot Highlights Newsletter: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/Jenna_Byrnes_Newsletter/

7 comments on “Interview w/ Author Jenna Byrnes

  1. Pingback: PINK MANHATTAN: Caron Pois de Senteur, Acaciosa, Bellodgia | Perfume Beauty Wisdom

  2. Jesse, Jenna,

    What a fun interview. I see nothing wrong with Pizza and/or Chocolate cake…sophisticated is fine, but give me some basics well done and I’m a happy camper too.

    Hugs
    Jude

Leave a Reply

