Interview w/ Author Lynn Lorenz

Welcome to a special Monday edition of The Fox Hole. Here’s hoping that everyone had a fabulous holiday and didn’t eat too much. I’m still recovering myself from a head spinning holiday so much so I lost track of time and forgot what day it was. *blushes* That’s the danger of holidays, crazy family, and working from home. Anywho, today I would like to introduce my guest multi-published writer Lynn Lorenz to The Fox Hole. So, grab that cup of coffee and that sprinkle donut and join me in a hearty HELLO!

Amber Quill Press

Welcome to The Fox Hole Lynn it’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Well, I’ve written all my life, mostly back in college and high school, then most recently in 2006 I had this story going round and round, so I started writing it down, just to get rid of it. I’d see entire scenes, action, dialogue, in my head. I’d lay awake at night and run through the scenes, correcting, editing, and then the next day, I’d type it all down. I worked at the computer, not telling anyone what I was doing. Truthfully, I was embarrassed because I was writing about sex. So every time my husband would walk in the room, I’d minimize the screen. And I probably looked very flushed and guilty. After about a month or two of this furtive typing he confronted me about it. He thought I was having an on-line affair! It wasn’t on-line, but there was a tall dark handsome man – in my story! DH asked to see it, he’s a sci-fi/fantasy reader, and I made him promise not to laugh. He read it, didn’t laugh, and said, “More!” I was blown away.  Then, when I had several books written, in the space of one year, he pushed me to join the local RWA chapter. I did, hooked up with my critique partners, and I was on my way.

I’ve never looked back.

That book, the first one, eventually became The Avalon Patrol – The Road To Avea, which was published this summer by Amber Quill Press. It’s the first in a trilogy, and the second book is already written, but not edited. It’s a blend of fantasy/paranormal/ and detective…set in a world where magic is used, and crime and evil is fought by the Avalon Patrol, witches and warlocks dedicated to their One God and to keep their world safe. It’s quite long – over 300 pages, and spans two worlds, magic and non-magic, and follows several sets of lovers who are in the Patrol. It’s had great reviews and I’m really proud of it.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

When I was in high school I was an artist – drew and painted – and also wrote short stories and poetry. I get my talent from my mom. I would always find her scribbles all over the place at home. And she wrote also. She encouraged me in my artistic pursuits. I went to college thinking I’d do a double lit and art major, but graduated with a B.A. in Fine Art. For a long time, I wrote poetry, angsty stuff about my lovers, and I painted acrylics and watercolors.

It was only after I married and my kids got old enough not to need me every moment of the day, when they hit their pre-teens, that I started writing seriously for publication. I have to thank my husband and the ladies I met at the local RWA for putting that goal in my mind. Once I made my mind up, I chased it relentlessly. And when my heart and path took me down the road less traveled, writing gay romance, my critique partners and my husband supported and encouraged me.

In 2007, I attended RWA National, pitched to Treva Harte, from Loose Id, and they published my first novel – The Mercenary’s Tale, in 2008, a m/m romance set in Medieval time, with two male protagonists who fall in love.

Oh, and my daughter is carrying on the tradition  – she draws, manga and anime style, and writes poetry, short stories and fan fiction. I’m very proud of her and amazed at how talented a writer she is at her young age.

As a writer what inspires you?

You know, I like to weave things that are happening around me into my stories. I have stories that deal with same sex families, adoption by same sex couples, Alzheimer’s, the struggle of men who come back after war wounded emotionally and physically, men searching for who they are, men who have special powers, sex slaves, you name it!

Music can set me off, but most of the time, it’s news, or a situation, or an idea, even just a character, and I run with it. I love brainstorming ideas, getting crazy, letting the stuff flow, then sorting through it all and picking out what can work. I love taking an idea, like a submissions call or theme and seeing how I can twist it around to put a fresh, new spin on it.

An example of that is for November, I had a novella call from Amber Quill’s Amber Allure line, a Pax anthology, (buy all 5 at a reduced price, gotta love a sale!) and the theme was Songs To Remember. I picked My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys. For a month or so I rattled ideas all over the place, dude ranches, cattle ranches, rodeos, then I hit on this crazy idea about a costume party and the two guys playing the ultimate game of Cowboys and Indians. I think it turned out fun, sexy, and wild. I hope the readers will agree.

Do you have any favorite writers?

Seriously? You’re kidding, right? So many writers, so little time. And so many are friends so I’ll talk about the people I don’t know. Harper Lee, early Stephen King, James Dos, Faye Kellerman, Ed McBain, Lois McMaster-Bujold, James Hillerman, can you see a trend? They are not romance authors. Other than Mary Stewart, who I grew up reading in high school, I wasn’t a romance reader at all. I love detectives, mysteries, suspense. So it was logical that my loves translated into my writing. I have lots of detectives and cops, mystery and suspense in my books. And some comedy. I love writing comedy.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

That’s a tough one. You know, I can’t see my life without my family, so I’d have to bring them along for the ride. And I’d definitely don’t want to live in the past – ugh. No indoor plumbing? Childbirth without the drugs? No rights for women? Ugh. No freaking way. Not this material girl.

So I think, either stay where I am, or in the future, as long as it’s a great future, not one of those horrible post-apocalypse futures with radio-active zombies, hybrid evil vampires, and no power or food. That’d suck.

How about a future like in The Jetsons? I especially love all the zipping around in the hover cars and putting on masks to talk to people on the video phone…and the cool tubes that shoot you from place to place! As long as I get a body like Jane Jetson’s and her awesome hairdo, and get to wear those funky retro 50-60’s pedal pushers she wore with the big collars. A totally cool look, if you ask me.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Baby, I’m from N’awlins. All we have is favorite foods. It’s the only place in the world where you can get better food at a gas station than at some restaurants. Trust me, when I was in public school, no one brought their lunches. We had some of the best food, cooked by the little lunch ladies, I’ve every tasted. I still think about it. *sigh* In N’awlins, we grow up talking about food, where we’re going to eat, where we’ve eaten, what we’re eating right now, and it’s all good. I don’t know if I can name just one thing, but there are days I’d kill for a roast beef po’boy with plenty plenty man’aise and gravy on French bread. And a Barq’s in a bottle. Oh, and a Hubig’s coconut cream pie.

Dang! Now I’m all favored up. I’ll have to put on a pot of red beans. I prefer mine with ham, not sausage.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Well, I’ve already told you about The Avalon Patrol. And in August there was Best Vacation That Never Was, Loose Id, also one of

Loose Id

the books that came from a submission call about vacations. I thought, what if some guy had this great vacation planned and then he couldn’t go? Then, I saw this picture of some poor guy crawling down a fire truck ladder naked, and it went from there. The night before Troy leaves on a cruise with all his friends, his building burns down, and he’s rescued by a hunky fire fighter, Jason, who takes him home. The sparks fly and Jason decides to give Troy the best vacation ever…including some awesome, soul-rocking sex.

And I mentioned the My Heroes Have Always Been Cowboys, from Amber Quill Press, that came out in November.

Amber Quill

Then this month, December, from Amber Quill Press, No Good Deed will be published. It’s about a bisexual Chinese American cop who begins a relationship with a gay man, and has to maneuver city hall politics, intrigue, hookers and his decision to be in a monogamous gay relationship.

Baymore’s Heirthe third in my In The Company Of Men, medieval m/m series, and I plan to work on a few more novellas that include these guys for 2010. Baymore’s Heir is scheduled to release January 2010 from Loose Id.

In December, I turned in a novella for another Pax story – Breakfast At Tiffany’s. Can you guess the theme? No, not food, but great movies. It’s set in a N’awlins diner called Tiffany’s Waffles and Wings – out I think March 2010.

And I’m working on the next Common Powers book, set in the bayous of Louisiana. It will involve voodoo, art, a hunky sheriff and a N’awlins PI.

Wow! Was this supposed to be this long? Make a note; never let Lynn ramble about stuff, cuz she can sure talk! Sorry, but my upbringing – my N’awlins birthright – demands it of me. Good food, good talk, good music.

Laissez les bon temps roulez, cher!!

And Yeehaw!!! From a N’awlins Yat in Texas….

Liquid Silver Books

Thank you for stopping by Lynn to share of yourself and your work with my readers. You’re welcome to stop by anytime for another chat.

Well, that’s it for this week. For those of you interested in learning more about Lynn and her work check out the following links:

lynnlorenz@live.com

www.lynnlorenz.com

www.trampyvamps.com

The Sirens of Romance.


One comment on “Interview w/ Author Lynn Lorenz

Leave a Reply

