Interview with Author Kelley Heckart

Happy New Year to all my readers and welcome to the first edition of The Fox Hole in 2010. I hope you all had a wonderful holiday and the hangovers were at a minimum. *grins* I’ve been told there will be huge changes in the second decade of the new millennium, but I also know there will be lots of stories to tell as well. In celebration of the new year and all those stories that are waiting to be told I have author Kelley Heckart as my first guest of the year. So pour that cup of Joe, grab a pop tart, and pull up a chair!

Avail @ Awe-Struck

Welcome to The Fox Hole, Kelley, it’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I live in Arizona with my husband and two dogs. I love sunrises, men in kilts and will do anything for chocolate.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

No. My first love was music and my first attempts at writing were song lyrics. I didn’t get serious about writing stories and novels until later in life when health issues forced me to change my wild, rock and roll lifestyle.

As a writer what inspires you?

My writing is inspired by the ancient Celts, mythology, supernatural creatures and anything out of the ordinary. I like Epic stories and I like to write tales with a lot of conflict. My characters are put through hell before they get to that HFN or HEA ending.

Do you have any favorite writers?

Some of my favorite writers are Morgan Llywelyn, Evangeline Walton, Lynn Kurland, Juliet Marillier, Anne Rice, Jack Whyte, Stephen King and my favorite e-pub author is Cornelia Amiri.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I know I probably wouldn’t survive, but I would like to live in Dark Age Britain just to see how it really was. For some reason I am really drawn to that time period. I think I like it because it was such a mysterious time.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

We have this favorite dish that was passed down from my mom. It’s called Chicken Devine and it’s really good. My favorite desert is anything chocolate—chocolate cake, brownies, chocolate covered bananas…Ooh, I bet you can make some really delicious desserts. I’m jealous. LOL

You would be right. Not to brag, but I spent some time as baker among other things and like you, Kelley, I adore chocolate in all its forms. 🙂 Back to business though. LOL Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

My latest release from Awe-Struck is Cat’s Curse. Cat’s Curse is a Celtic historical romance with fantasy elements. This is the first book in a trilogy titled Dark Goddess. This series revolves around the entangled destinies of an Irish clan and an ancient Fae/Goddess. Cat’s Curse is my first book featuring a vampire-like character, though she differs from a European vampire because she was cursed by her enemies to live an eternity as a Lamia (Greek vampire), a half-woman, half-serpent.

This is also my first book based on an actual person in history. My hero, Aedan mac Gabrain did exist in sixth century Scotland. He is mentioned in various texts from Adomnan’s Life of St. Columba and in the Welsh poems, he is called Aedan the Treacherous. He was a king, but his younger years were shadowy and he may have fathered a king of the Picts. This fascinated me and I imagined what his earlier years might have been like and what kind of woman he would be drawn to.

I have another book coming soon from Awe-Struck in the first part of 2010 called Beltaine’s Song. Beltaine’s Song is the second book of my Dark Goddess trilogy and covers the time when Aedan is finally king of Dal Riata. Of course, being a king isn’t an easy task especially with a Dark Goddess trying to destroy you, and having to contend with earthly foes as well. I also introduce another being who is somehow associated with Cat Anna (Cailleach). Their son, Gartnait, is one of the few people who can see her, but she may or may not be a threat. I had a theme going on through this second book that although spring brings about new life, it is also the time when clans battled one another so spring also brings about the harsh sound of the battle horn, and danger.

Coming Soon from Awe-Struck

Thank you for having me at the Fox Hole, Jesse.

You’re quite welcome, Kelley. I’d love to have you back any time because frankly I find controversy delicious. 🙂

For those interested in learning more about Kelley and her work check out the links below:

Awe-Struck: www.awestruck.net

Book page at Awe-Struck: http://www.king-cart.com/Awe-Struck/category=Kelley+Heckart/exact_match=exact

My website: www.kelleyheckart.com

My blog: www.kelleysrealm.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/CelticChick

My Facebook Fan Page: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Kelley-Heckart/111838455604

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/kheckart

2 comments on “Interview with Author Kelley Heckart

    • You’re welcome. Writers should stick together and help each other out whenever they can. 🙂

      Glad you love my lil’ buddy. I learned long ago, by the oddest circumstances that the fox is my animal spirit/totem. Long story, but trust me his cute butt has followed me for well over 20 years. He put me on my path as a writer and I love him for that.

Leave a Reply

