Interview with Rie McGaha, Author & Reviewer

Welcome to the January 24, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today I’m tickled to present fellow pagan and author Rie McGaha to my snug little hideaway. Rie is a wonderful lady who has been a blessing to me as well as many other authors in the pagan community and I feel blessed to have her here, not to mention a bit nervous. After all I’m interviewing not only a writer, but one of the reviewers who read my m/m mystery novel Blood Noir. *giggles nervously*

Any who…on with the show folks! Pull up a seat, grab a cup of Joe and a pasty, and join me in welcoming the lovely Rie McGaha!

Coming Soon @ Noble Romance

Welcome to The Fox Hole Rie, it’s a delight and an honor to have you. Could you tell my readers a little bit about yourself?

Thanks for having me, Jesse. I’m such a fan of your work, it’s really a pleasure to be here with you!

Besides writing, I also review for The Pagan & The Pen and a couple of other sites, and I have a blog called Author Offerings where I interview other authors about their new and upcoming releases.

In real life, I’m a wife, mom of 12, and Nana of 25. I rescue abused and abandoned animals, fix ‘em up, and try to find homes for them. Those that don’t get homes remain with me. I currently have 3 cats and 7 dogs, so you can imagine that I spend more on pet food than I do on people food!

Wow it sounds like you have your hands full there. 🙂 It’s wonderful what you’re doing for the animals out there. My mom was the same way in a time when people didn’t give much thought to such things.

So, Rie have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I don’t remember a time when I didn’t write. As a child I used to write stories for my cousins and classmates, and as a teen I wrote song lyrics and morose poetry, and as a new mom I wrote stories for my kids. I kind of tapered off on the writing after I had a few kids and a full time job, but there was always this desire inside me to write again. Once the kids grew up and began moving out, I had some free time and was able to begin writing full time.

As a writer what inspires you?

I have a pretty warped sense of humor and a dark sense of the world around me…I’m just a tad twisted, so I find inspiration in some very weird things sometimes. Sometimes ideas come as a dream, or sometimes it’s just the voices in my head telling me what to write.

It seems that we have a bit in common there. I always groan when people ask me the same question that I just asked you. 😀 This one question always gets a groan as well. Do you have any favorite writers?

I do. I love James Patterson and his Alex Cross series. I devour them as each new one comes out! I’m also a huge fan of Karen Marie Moning, Lynsay Sands, Sherrilyn Kenyon, and many others.

Now for something a bit more lighthearted. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

That changes with my moods, but I’d love to have lived in the Scottish Highlands in the 16th or 17th century with some braw Highland lad! Or the old west, or during the Renaissance, or during the Crusades. I love history, especially American history, and would love to be able to just travel through time, stopping off at each event that I missed by being born in the 20th century, and of course this whole mortal thing that keeps me attached to the here and now!

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Seafood! Any kind, any time! I also love Italian food, Mexican food, Indian food…okay, I love food—period!

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

I currently have 5 books published with Noble Romance Publishing, and my sixth, Ancient Blood, the sequel to Blood Line, is coming soon.

As you know, Blood Line actually came from a dream my truck driver husband had several years ago that I just expanded on and viola, a book was born! The story is about Joshua & Jessie Kaine, high school sweethearts who have been married for ten years and drive big rigs cross-country together. One night on a deserted country road they hit an animal and stop to make sure the truck isn’t damaged, only the animal isn’t dead and it’s pissed! Josh winds up getting bit and from there the story develops into a shape shifter/erotic/romance/paranormal/adventure that takes the reader across the United States and across the world in pursuit of the beasts. Blood Line has had awesome reviews and I received a lot of emails wanting to know where the rest of the story was!

Ancient Blood picks up right where Blood Line left off, and readers will just have to wait for the release date to find out what happens! But I will tell you that Ancient Blood is Ganda’s story, and she seems to be a favorite character of most readers.

I hadn’t intended to make this into a series, but sometimes characters take on a life of their own and demand their own stories. Such was the case with Ganda, and while writing Ancient Blood, one of the characters, Garan, seemed to have a story to tell, so I think there will be a third book!

I definitely know what that feels like. Right at the moment I’m having discussions with my characters from a new series I’m working on. They can be quite demanding.

Unfortunately we’ve come to the end of our time together, but I would love to have you pop in again sometime in the future. Thank you, Rie, for taking the time out of your busy schedule to visit with me and my readers.

If you’d like to learn more about Rie and her work check out the links below.

Coming Soon @ Noble Romance Publishing

Rie McGaha’s Website

Rie on Twitter

Rie on Ning

Rie on MySpace

Noble Romance Publishing

4 comments on “Interview with Rie McGaha, Author & Reviewer

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Rie McGaha, Author & Reviewer « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

  2. Thanks for the interview Jesse. It’s always a pleasure to have the chance to sit down and chat with you! And of course, I’m waiting impatiently for your next release!

    • No problem, Rie, you’ve been supportive of my work and the interview was the least I could do in return.

      I am working on it girl. I’m OCD about my writing. I think I edit it at least a hundred times before it even gets to my actual editor. I swear it’s coming though. Quality over quantity is my motto. *hee* Not to mention I’m long winded as hell. 😀

  3. Oh my you do have an impressive life…12 kids and 25 grandkids… full time job… writer… Wow! You’re my shero! And how awesome to turn a dream into a book. This one calls to me, and is now on my TBR list.

Leave a Reply

