New Interview with Belinda McBride

Welcome to the February 21, 2010 installment of The Fox Hole. Today my guest is multi-published author Belinda McBride. I was lucky enough to have Belinda take time out of her busy schedule to share of herself and her work. So, Foxettes 😉 grab that pastry, a cup of Joe, and pull up a chair. Let’s give Belinda McBride a big round of applause!

Avail Now @ Loose ID

Welcome to The Fox Hole Belinda, it’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Hi there! Thanks for having me at the Fox Hole! Well, I live in northern California, just down the road from the famous Shasta Dam. I’ve got two grown daughters, six Siberian Huskies, and I stay at home as a full time caregiver for my autistic niece, who has lived with me for 11 years now. Since I work from home, I have all the time I could want for writing. Well, most of the time anyway! Sometimes I have multiple deadlines and could use extra hours in the day.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

As a very young girl, I wanted to be a writer. I think it was because I loved to read so much that my brain was just infected with all sorts of wild ideas! LOL! I wrote for the stage when I was in college and had a play produced. After a long hiatus, I started reading a lot of paranormal romance and got the bug. I started writing in about 2007 and now I wish I’d started a lot earlier!

As a writer what inspires you?

Music and song give me the feeling I need to write, though I can’t listen when I’m actually writing. Poetry does the same. I enjoy watching foreign film and anime and get a lot of inspiration from other cultures. I also tend to dip into mythology and folklore for inspiration.

Do you have any favorite writers?

I love reading Laurell Hamilton, Marjorie Liu and Morgan Hawke. Neil Gaiman has a real whimsical tone to his writing. I’ve just finished Charlaine Harris’ Grave series, which I enjoyed better than her Sookie Stackhouse series. Also Patricia Briggs is a new discovery. I love her Alpha and Omega series.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I’m a historian by training, and really appreciate modern amenities…like antibiotics and toothpaste! But I’d love to visit Hellenic Greece and Rome at the height of the Empire. Maybe Georgian England just to check out the clothing. J

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Hey, my daughter is a professional chef! Cool! (She is Johnny Depp’s yacht chef.)

I have to say I’m a bit jealous. I’m a huge fan of Johnny’s work. Of course I probably couldn’t stop staring long enough to actually get any work done. *laughs*

As for food, I adore a good pizza. Gelato…mmm…my friend Kazu makes the world’s best teriaki. This is all very mean and cruel because I’m dieting and you’re turning on my appetite! While I’m thinking of it…Chocolate cake. (groooaaannn…)

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

I have two new books, they released less than a week apart!

So, the first is a space opera called ‘An Uncommon Whore’ which is the first in a m/m series I’m doing at Loose Id. It’s the ongoing story of the Arash, a human society who have been conquered and trying to start all over on a new planet. Helios Dayspring is the heir to the throne, and has been missing for years. His former bodyguard (and lover) Griffin Hawke finds him working as a whore in a seedy bar, and together they make an escape and journey home. This story is about Helios’ relearning who he is, and Griffin learning to accept Helios’ unconditional love. Book Two will be written from Griffin’s perspective and dig a bit more into the politics and intrigue of their kingdom.

The second book is called Last Call Europe: Devil’s Advocate. As you might expect, the ‘hero’ of the story is an attorney named Jedidiah Worth, who also happens to be a demon! A young pair of tiger shifters seek him out to help them undo a curse. In doing so, the tigers grow rather enamored with Jedidiah. In fact, he’s going to have a tough time walking away! But that’s okay, every demon needs a leash…

And on that note *chuckles* our time here is over. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your life with the readers and with me. It’s nice to get to know a fellow m/m author. You’re welcome to come visit again!

For those of you interested in learning more about Belinda and her work check out the links below:

Website: http://www.belindamcbride.com
Blog: http://www.belindam.blogspot.com
Follow Belinda on Twitter! http://twitter.com/Belinda_McBride

6 comments on “New Interview with Belinda McBride

    • I’m sure Belinda will love to hear that. The entire point of The Fox Hole is to give writers like myself, who are struggling in a sea of writers, an opportunity to share of themselves in a supportive environment.

      Thanks for stopping by and checking out Belinda’s fabulous interview.

Leave a Reply

