Interview with Author Claire Thompson

Welcome to the February 28, 2010 installment of The Fox Hole. I’m proud to have as today’s guest multi-published and indie author Claire Thompson. The gal kicks it, but good, and you’ll get that after reading this interview. So in the name of everything erotic and sexy grab a cup of Joe, one of those devilishly sweet pastries, pull up a seat and help me welcome Claire. *winks & grins*

Check out that wicked smile!

Welcome to ‘The Fox Hole’ Claire! It’s a delight to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I’m a writer of erotic romance, including m/m, ménages, m/f and lots of BDSM. I’m probably bets known for my BDSM work. I’ve been writing and publishing since 1996. After over forty novels, this past year I took the leap to become an Indie Author, taking my own stuff to publication via my own imprint – Romance Unbound Publishing.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I never really thought of doing it for a living until I hit my mid-thirties. I was newly single, with two little children, working as a temp and scared to death how to make ends meet. I started writing dirty little stories just for fun for a few magazines, and it earned me a few bucks. Then, on a lark, I sent something in to Masquerade Books, a then sizable erotica publisher located in NYC. I just sent in three chapters of my first ever novel, Sarah’s Awakening, and then I kind of forgot about it. About a month later, the publisher called and said, “Okay, so where’s the rest of that book, we want it!” I was floored! Then I got the bug, and I’ve never stopped.

As a writer what inspires you?

A good, exciting story. If I can come up with something that gets my creative juices going, you can’t keep me from it. I will work 12-18 hours in a single day on it, when I get crazed. I know I’m onto something when I start dreaming about it, wake up with dialog and narrative going in my head and can’t wait to get to the keyboard.

Do you have any favorite writers?

I love Walter Mosley, Anne Perry, I. J. Parker, Sue Grafton, Isaac Asimov, J.R.R. Tolkien, a whole host of others!

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Somewhere in the future where we’ve eradicated hunger, ended war, have universal healthcare and universal tolerance. No countries, no religion, basically the lyrics to John Lennon’s Imagine.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Sushi. I could eat it every day. And rice pudding.

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

Avail @ Romance Unbound

I’ve been writing novels for thirteen years. I love the process, the slow development of the plot and the characters, taking my time to bring the story to a satisfying conclusion. But lately I got to thinking—do I have what it takes to write something shorter, and still create a story compelling enough, and richly textured enough to engage my readers?

I decided I could work in the challenge of the short story, and yet still eventually create a cohesive whole by writing a series. The work would feature a series of short novellas, with various characters weaving in and out of the plots as the stories progressed. The goal is to tie them all back to the original theme, producing a separate little gem that wouldl eventually link up into a loosely connected bracelet of romantic tales.

Now, most m/m erotic romance concerns young, hot, sexy guys, which is great, but I thought it would be fun to take a look at a group of older guys and explore how they can still be sexy and exciting, often more so, since they actually have some experience and maturity under their belts. This series looks at older men, men who have been smacked around by life a little bit, and burned by love.

I liked the idea of “the one that got away” as a theme. This group of romantically disinclined guys meet once a month at the Pelham Bay Pub to proclaim their determination never to fall in love again (since, in their collective life experience, love stinks). Each stoutly promises to remain single (hence the term solitary knights) and the meetings are supposed to help them stay that way, by giving each other support in avoiding the pitfalls of love.

But when Drew Kensington, the bartender, throws out a challenge that maybe love isn’t the enemy, and maybe there is someone out there who actually touched the lives and hearts of these men, a bunch of them start thinking…hmm… I wonder what ever happened to…and the series is off and running.

As an independent author, my greatest challenge is to reach new readers. Everybody likes a freebie! So I decided to make Book 1: Finding Chandler, a free read! Lots of folks who might not otherwise see my work, hopefully will download this story from 1RomanceEBooks.com and, if they like what they read, might be inclined to check out the rest of the series.

Here the blurbs for each of the three stories written so far. The next book in the series is called Stardust.

Finding Chandler: Eric Moore didn’t know what he had back in college, casually breaking the heart of the one guy who would have done anything for him. When Eric decides to seek him out twenty years later, the man he discovers isn’t the boy he left behind so long ago… Will finding Chandler mean finding love at last?

Avail @ Romance Unbound

A Test of Love: Though it’s been fourteen years, Ryan Kennedy has never quite gotten over Tom Shafer, the college professor he’d fallen hopelessly in love with. When Ryan and Tom reconnect, the heat between them is instant. But their fledgling relationship is tested when both receive hate-filled notes, warning each man to stay away from the other. When the warnings turn to violence, can the relationship survive?

Switching Gears: It’s been years since Jack walked away from the traditional leather scene, its rigid rules and conventions too confining for a man used to taking who and what he wants.

Marcos Savakis watches with disdainful amusement as Jack boasts of his sexual conquests at the monthly meetings of the Solitary Knights. Marcos has spent years in the scene, training submissives to serve others, his heart insulated from the process. At the request of a dying friend, he reluctantly accepts a new charge to train. The man he discovers waiting on his knees is the last person he would have ever expected, and the first person to touch his heart.

Now you’ve got me hooked with the idea of this series and I’ll have to check it out. Sadly, that’s all the time we have today, but you’re welcome to join me at the Fox Hole in the future. Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to share of yourself and your work.

For those of you who wish to learn more about Claire and her work please check out the below links:

Website

Avail @ Romance Unbound

Indie Publishing Site – Romance Unbound

Yahoo Chat Group

Claire’s Blog

Twitter

Facebook

2 comments on “Interview with Author Claire Thompson

  1. Thank you for taking the time to stop by The Fox Hole and comment. Claire is incredible and now I have yet another writer to put on my never ending list of incredible writers that I need to read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

