Interview with Author Marc Jarrod

Welcome to the March 14, 2010 edition of  The Fox Hole. This morning I have multi-published writer Marc Jarrod as my guest and he’s here to tickle your fancy with some of his work. So here goes nothing. Grab that chair, a hot cup of Joe, and one of those sticky cinnamon rolls, and settle in for a lovely morning chat.

Avail @ Romance Divine

Welcome to The Fox Hole Marc it’s wonderful to have you here today. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I have been a writer for about 4 years. My first novel was a time travel piece.After a few rewrites—actually a lot of rewrites, and numerous rejections, a publisher accepted my book, Time Eternal. Wouldn’t you know it, right in the middle of editing, the e-Pub went out of business and I thought my writing career was over before it started.

I put that book on the back burner telling myself not to be discouraged; I decided to go in another direction regarding genres and eXtasy books accepted my next book, One Dangerous Woman, a dark fantasy.

In addition to One Dangerous Woman, I have also written two other novels, titled Ferver Black’s Christmas Wish, which is a vampire genre, and A Heavenly Christmas, which is a holiday romance. I also have written Christmas in July another Christmas romance and a sequel to Ferver Black entitled Another Christmas wish for Ferver Black. In addition to writing several novels, I’ve written two anthologies.

Besides writing, I enjoy watching sports mainly, football and baseball. I am also a trivia buff, participating in trivia tournaments about once a month.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

Avail @ Devine Destinies

Many people ask if I always wanted to be a writer. Well, in the words of the late, great, George Carlin when asked if he always wanted to be a comedian, “Well, not in the womb, but after that, yes I thought about it.” LOL

So no, I never really thought about writing until about 4 years ago.

As a writer what inspires you?

My first book was actually an inspiration. I always wondered (with technology now reaching the Jetson’s age) what would happen if a medical doctor were inadvertently transported to the old West? As a result, he would have to adapt without the technology he’s used. Kind of like the Beverly Hillbillies in reverse. How would the Drysdales adapt to living in the hills with the Clampetts?

Do you have any favorite writers?

My favorite is James Patterson. I have read most of his books. I also like Nora Roberts and Robert Crays.

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I would love to live in Australia, present time. I have never been there, but I have seen movies filmed there and it just looks so exotic. I would also like to live in Switzerland or Sweden. Again, it looks so exotic.

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Lasagna would be at the top of the list, with fried chicken coming a close second.

Avail @ eXtasy books

Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

I had two Christmas books recently published through eXtasy Books and its sister company Divine Destinies; Christmas in July and the sequel to the Ferver Black saga, Another Christmas Wish for Ferver Black and Christmas in July.

Another Christmas Wish for Ferver Black is the story of Ferver Black who was once a vampire and now turned mortal. He marries and is very happy but unfortunately, circumstances occur where he might have to turn to the dark side so to speak and transform into a vampire by someone he least expected, but was happy to oblige in the transformation. This is an erotic book published through eXtasy Books.

Christmas in July is a modern non-erotic story set in the present, published by Devine Destinies.

It is a story of a Harvard-educated medical doctor who finds himself stranded in a one-horse town due to a massive snowstorm on Christmas Eve. He learns that the town had been without a doctor for over two years. The townspeople are thrilled that he had arrived, thinking they were given a new doctor as a Christmas present.

To their chagrin, he tells them he’s just passing through. Or is he? Will he stay in this one-horse town and give up a possibly mid six-figure income at a prestigious medical firm? Would he give the town a Christmas present that could last a lifetime?

Well thank you Marc for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share your life and your work with the readers here at The Fox Hole. If you would like  to learn more about Marc Jarrod and his work check out the following links:

Avail @ eXtasy

Publisher/s: www.extasybooks.com and www.devinedestinies.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/marcjarrod

Leave a Reply

