Interview with Author Sandy Nicks

Welcome to the March 28, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today my guest is romance writer Sandy Nicks and she has been kind enough not only to agree to an interview, but share an excerpt from her latest release. So my darling foxettes grab one of those chocolate cupcakes, a cup of Joe, pull up a comfy chair, and give Sandy a warm welcome!

Avail @ Vanilla Heart Publishing

Welcome to The Fox Hole, Sandy, I’m delighted to have you. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Thanks for having me, Jesse! I live in NJ with my husband, children and nine spoiled pets. I write romantic comedy and time travel romance. When I’m not writing, I love going to the beach, reading, and taking the dogs to the reservoir. I’m also a long time member of the NJ Romance Writers and RWA.

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

Yes, I have! I started writing poetry and journals when I was about eight, but didn’t attempt my first novel until I was in my twenties. Twenty years later (cough, cough), in 2009, I sold my first novel and have three more coming out this year.

As a writer what inspires you?

This is a tough one, but I’d have to say the beach inspires me most. I love to write while I’m at the beach. The sound of the ocean, the salty air and digging my toes in the sand is so relaxing. Even my desk at home is surrounded by things related to the beach – seashells, pictures, candles, music – I’ve even contemplated putting a container of sand under my desk to dip my toes in – LOL

As for my stories and characters, I find inspiration in various places such as the news, movies, and stories I’ve either heard or read about. And with the Internet, once you find something that inspires you, you can research just about anything!

I also listen to music when I write. Depending on the scene, I listen to songs that will enhance the emotions I need to bring out in my characters. I’m addicted to iTunes!

Do you have any favorite writers?

Richard Castle! I’m kidding, but I do love the show Castle and Nathan Fillion!

Now That's Yummy! *winks*

I’m really connecting with you now! Nate is one of my fav guys on television today and I adore Castle. 🙂 Excuse me for the interruption, but Captain Tight Pants has that effect on me. *grins*

Back to the question…I do have favorite writers. The list is long so I’ll just name a few: Debra Mullins, Jane Porter, Stephen King, Alice Sebold, Janet Evanovich, Jay McInerney, Jude Deveraux, Anne Lamott, Jane Austen, Dr. Seuss (seriously) and many more!

If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I would have to say the present. As much as I used to dream about living in medieval times, I could never live without modern facilities, appliances or technology like my laptop, blackberry or eReader. I love living in NJ. We have beautiful beaches, great mountains and we’re close to NYC, but I do dream of living in Hawaii!

Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

I love Italian food and cupcakes with chocolate frosting!

Chocolate frosted cupcakes–excellent! I do believe chocolate is a staple of any writer’s diet. 😉 But back to the interview. Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

My latest release, Circle of Eternity, is a time travel romance filled with adventure and humor. I wrote this book ten years ago, faced rejections and put it away. After I sold Falling for Autumn to Vanilla Heart Publishing, I pitched it to my publisher. She loved it and now it’s a dream come true. I have always loved this story and feel thankful I can now share it with my readers.

Here is a short blurb:

When her husband dies in the arms of another woman, Samantha Brooks travels to England where the Earl of Brindlemoor has opened both his manor house and the ruins of Brindlemoor Castle to tourists. A mystery ensues when Samantha encounters Greyson Pierce, hell bent on protecting Brindlemoor and they are transported back into the twelfth century – a time of danger and intrigue somehow linked to the present. The quest to right old wrongs becomes a personal journey for the hero and heroine to overcome past betrayals and renew their capacity to trust – each other, and in the future…

In addition to romance, I love adventure, mystery and humor. I incorporated all these elements into Circle of Eternity and hope to take the reader on a journey they’ll remember for a very long time.

Now for the pleasure of the readers you’ve offered an excerpt from Circle of Eternity.

Excerpt:

The door creaked open. Samantha darted away from the tower window. Hiding her hand behind her back, she faced the condemnation in Greyson’s stare.

“What in bloody hell are you doing in here?”

Taken aback by his display of hostility, she eyed his rigid stance with caution before responding. “I…I was looking around.”

“Get out! Now!”

Samantha shifted uncomfortably. “I’m sorry. I know I was wrong to leave the group, but I heard someone calling out. I came to see if they needed help.”

His face glowed red. “Didn’t I make myself clear that parts of the castle are unsafe? You know you’re not to wander off on your own.” He folded his arms across his chest and glared at her. “Couldn’t you control your curiosity?”

“Yes, but…”

“You do know what happened to the cat,” he interrupted, “don’t you?”

Picking up her duffle bag with her free hand, she tightened her hold on the object she held in the other. “If you’ll excuse me,” she said, adjusting the bag over her shoulder, “I’d like to join the others.”

He didn’t budge. His large frame filled the small doorway. “I’ll let you go, but first let me see what you’ve got hidden behind your back.”

“You told me to leave, and I’d like to go now,” she repeated. “So would you please step aside?”

He held his ground. “Why is it that American women are so cheeky?”

Samantha’s adrenaline surged. Great. He had a personal problem with Americans, or maybe just with women. “I don’t think the earl would appreciate your rudeness. I am a guest here.”

“Tourist,” he grumbled.

“Excuse me?”

“I said tourist. You did pay to come here, didn’t you?

“How dare you!” With all the strength she could muster, she tried to push past him. He didn’t move. She tried again to shove him out of the way. Suddenly he stepped aside. She tripped over his boot and flew forward. Her arms flailed as she tumbled down. When she hit the floor, her hand opened.

The Celtic cross skidded down the hallway, its emerald and sapphire center glistening in the sunlight.

She glanced up at Greyson. Seeing his shocked expression, she immediately thought of the desperation in the voice of the girl who had told her where to find the cross.

She had to help her.

Determined not to fail, she scrambled across the floor.

Greyson dove after her and grabbed her ankle. “Where did you find that?” he demanded.

“By the window,” she replied, closing in on the cross. He tugged harder on her ankle. She kicked at him with her free leg. “Let go of me!”

“It doesn’t belong to you,” he said, yanking on her leg. “It belongs to Brindlemoor!”

“You don’t understand,” she cried. “I was told to look for it!”

They battled for the jewel encrusted relic like two children fighting over a toy.

Samantha snatched up the cross.

Greyson gripped its fine silver chain.

Neither would yield possession.

“Who told you to look for it?”

“The…” An electrical sensation seized her body. Her airways closed. She couldn’t answer. Everything before her blended into a hazy pinwheel of blue and green light. Greyson faded from view.

The downpour of colors enveloped her. Closing her eyes, Samantha surrendered.

Oh, my you’ve definitely captured my attention with that. Unfortunately, our time together has come to an end, but thank you for sharing your life as well as your work with us. You’re welcome back anytime.

Thank you again, Jesse – I had a great time!

If you’re interested in learning more about Sandy and her work please check out the following links:

Publisher/s: Vanilla Heart Publishing – www.vanillaheartbooksandauthors.com

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/sandynicks

Website: www.sandynicks.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/sannicks

Facebook: Sandy Nicks

Xanga: http://sandynicks.xanga.com/

3 comments on “Interview with Author Sandy Nicks

  1. Great interview, Sandy. It looks like a cat or some other critter took a bite out of my cupcake. Oh well. Interesting idea having a tray of sand beneath your desk for extra inspiration. We know from beach experience, don’t we, that the sand that usually gets tracked into the car will soon be all over the house.

    Might be worth it, though.

    Malcolm

  2. First – Thank you, Jesse for having me!

    Thanks Kimberlee for stopping by!

    Malcolm, you’re so funny! Yes, sand gets tracked into the house, but I don’t want that stuff – LOL Thanks for stopping by 🙂

Leave a Reply

