Interview with Author M.S. Spencer

Welcome to the April 04, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today my guest is the lovely M.S. Spencer writer of romantic thrillers. So please pour a cup of Joe, grab an Easter Bunny cupcake, pull up a chair and help me give Ms. Spencer a hearty welcome!

Avail @ Red Rose Publishing

Welcome to ‘The Fox Hole’ Ms. Spencer I’m tickled pink to have you as a guest on this lovely Easter Sunday. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Although I have traveled and lived in Chicago, Boston, Europe, South and Central America and the Middle East, I’ve spent the last 30 years in the Washington area as a librarian, Congressional staff assistant, speechwriter and editor. I worked for the U.S. Senate, for the Department of the Interior, and in several library systems, both public and academic.

My first published book, Lost in His Arms, is now available from Red Rose Publishing, Bookstrand, Mobipocket and Amazon. It’s set in 1991, at a particularly volatile time in world affairs & follows the romance between Chloe Gray and her mysterious lover, a CIA troubleshooter. My second novel, Lost & Found, about a woman searching for the husband who disappeared, only to find true love in Maine, will be released in May 2010 by Red Rose.

You’ve led a fascinating life, but have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I’ve been writing stories and poetry since 5th grade (and yes, I still have some of them around somewhere). As I’m sure is common, I always considered it an indulgence, not something that could be my profession. Corollary to that was what a writer friend called “submission anxiety” i.e. I just couldn’t get the story into the envelope, address, stamp and mail it. Until 3 years ago, when, laid up for several months, I finished a manuscript and submitted it. One and a half rejections later, it was released in September 2009 by Red Rose Publishing! The second was accepted in a week and I’m off to the races.

Wow that must have stunned you being accepted so quickly. As a writer what inspires you?

I tend to file experiences and images away in a little mental clip art organizer, whence they pop out at (usually) convenient times while I write. In my latest work, set in Chincoteague, I’ve used my long fascination with birds to color the background; in Lost in His Arms my “Inside the Beltway” years came in handy for providing a feel for the Washington scene.

Do you have any favorite writers?

Jane Austen, Iris Murdoch, Douglas Adams, Isaac Azimov,< pause for air> Evelyn Waugh, Agatha Christie, L. Frank Baum 🙂

I know that you lived all over the world, but if you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I’d have to live in several different dimensions—there are too many wonderful places to choose from. Paris in the 1950s, Cairo under the British, Istanbul and/or Byzantium, London anytime.

Now here’s one of my favorite questions to ask. Being a professional cook at one time, do you have a favorite food?

The only foods I don’t like are coconut and blanched almonds. Having spent time in the Middle East I particularly like the cuisine that stretches from Central Asia to Greece and down through Somalia—dishes that depend on juice-rich tomatoes, mint, and cucumbers, luscious grilled meats, thick sour yogurt and fish still flapping from the net.

That sounds fabulous, I enjoy the occasional Greek cuisine myself. Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

I’m currently working on my third book, a romance thriller set on Chincoteague Island. Dagne Lonegan writes an advice column, Dear Philomena, which begins to eerily mirror her life when she moves to Chincoteague and a murder is committed. The perpetrators fear she knows more than she does and try to scare her off in a series of attacks. Meanwhile she must choose between the tall, handsome Refuge Manager and her old lover, now a police detective.

That sounds fascinating I love a well written thriller with a hint of romance. I’ll keep an eye out for this one. Sadly, we’ve come to the end of our time together today. Thank you so much for sharing of yourself and your work with my readers. You’re welcome back anytime! Have a lovely holiday, Ms. Spencer.

For those readers who would like to learn more about M.S. Spencer and her work check out the following links:

Publisher: Red Rose Publishing

Website: www.meredithellsworth.com

Twitter: www.twitter.com/mssellsworth

One comment on “Interview with Author M.S. Spencer

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Author M.S. Spencer « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

