Interview with Author Barbara Edwards

Welcome to the April 11, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today I have as my guest multi-published romance author Barbara Edwards. So folks, grab that cup of joe, a fluffy pastry, pull up a chair, and help me give Barbara a warm welcome.

Barbara Edwards

Welcome to ‘The Fox Hole’ Barbara it’s a delight to have you.

Thank you for having me as a guest.

You’re welcome. Why don’t we start off by having you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I’m from New England, but lived in Florida for ten long, hot, muggy years. I love the Spring and Autumn seasons and neither are that far South. I like the people in both places.

I’m in Missouri myself and I can’t imagine not enjoying the changing of the seasons. Although I wouldn’t mind visiting Florida. 😉 So have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I didn’t know I wanted to write. I wrote poetry and short clips for years before I decided to write the ‘story.’ I am now hooked and can’t stop.

Yeah, writing does that to you–it’s like a drug once you step through that door. As a writer, Barbara, what inspires you?

I’m fascinated by odd facts and hidden details of history. My stories always start with something weird or strange that I learned.

So, I’m not the only one with a head full of odd factoids. *chuckles* That makes me feel better. 😀 Do you have any favorite writers?

Tons. Nora Roberts always comes to mind first. She’s so versatile.

Here’s one of my favorite questions. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

The western frontier during the Mountain Man times is so romantic. I picture myself on horseback exploring the Rockies before anyone else except the Indian tribes. I’m a wild woman in buckskins and shooting a 50 caliber black powder rifle.

A cowgirl to my own heart! Now me being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

Argh! I can’t decide between any flavor ice cream and potato chips. Neither helps me to keep my weight down, but they are soooo good.

Ice cream is one of my own naughty pleasures as well. *laughs* Now that I’ve picked your brain for random factoids, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

Ancient Awakening started with a nightmare about the cemetery I lived next to as a child and Rhodes End is a composite of all the small towns I’ve lived in.

Avail @ The Wild Rose Press

In Ancient Awakening, Police Officer ‘Mel’ Petersen investigates a death only she believes is murder. By disobeying direct orders from the Rhodes End Chief, she risks her career to follow clues that twist in circles to her backyard and lead the killer to her.

Her neighbor Stephen Zoriak is a prime suspect. Steve worked for a major pharmaceutical company where he discovered a weapon so dangerous he destroys the research. He is exposed to the dangerous organism. He suspects he is the killer and agrees to help her find the truth.

In the course of their investigation Mel and Steve find the real killer and a love that defies death.

Rhodes End draws the strange and outlandish. Power pulses in the air for those who are aware. An ordinary tourist tooling up the scenic road may tell friends of the charming village, but only the harmless or the expected find it easily.

Rhodes End dog-legs the North-Eastern corner of Connecticut, the hip pressing against Massachusetts while the paw scratches into Rhode Island. Not many maps show the location. Something the local farmers don’t worry about since tourists aren’t their source of income. The weather is important. Rain, sun and heat determine the viability of their crops. Underneath Rhodes End is a convergence of ley lines that rival the power of Stonehenge, the Great Pyramid of Egypt and Machu Pichu. The power existed before the Caucasian influx chased away the small tribes who used the site to call their spirits. Nothing is noted of the even older pictographs in the deep caves.

Ancient Awakening sounds like a fascinating trip into the paranormal. Paranormal stories are my favorite type of stories, especially the stranger and more outlandish they are. *hee*

Well, that’s all the time we have for now. It was wonderful having you as a guest Barbara and you’re more than welcome to come back and visit anytime. Thank you and good luck on all your future endeavors.

If you would like to learn more about Barbara Edwards and her work check out the following links:

Publisher/s: thewildrosepress.com and wingsepress.com

Website: www.barbaraedwards.net

Blog: http://barbaraedwards.net/blog/blog.asp for Barb’ed Comments

Twitter: barb_ed

Facebook: Barbara Edwards

Check out her Wings e-Press books as well:

Another Love

by Barbara Edwards ISBN 1-8697-058-5

Print-on-Demand ISBN 1-58697-873-X

“Four and a half stars from Romantic Times … ”

Some promises are made to be broken.

Caught in a web of political intrigue, graft and threats to a beloved child, Meg Warren and Drew Larkin hunt the men threatening the downfall of President Cleveland and the economic fabric of America. From a poor farm to the ostentatious world of New York’s elite, they sift lies, discover trust and an attraction they cannot resist. The last thing they expect to find is a love worth more than gold.

“A real page-turner with wonderful characters and a unique plot. You can’t miss with this one.”-­Award-winning author Patricia Potter

Annie’s Heart

By Barbara Edwards

ISBN 31-58697-131-X Print-on-Demand ISBN 1-58697-907-8 “Four stars from Romantic Times …”

Only two gold coins and her grandmother’s gold pendant separate widowed ANNIE MOSS’ family from starvation until TRACE RANDOLPH becomes honor-bound to help. Together, they must overcome outlaws and disaster before they admit a love neither wanted.

Rachel’s Rescue

By H. B. EDWARDS aka Barbara Edwards ISBN 1-58697-271-5

“Three stars from Romantic Times … ”

A man with no dreams left and a woman with only dreams ….

Rachel Winslow lost everything in the Sudan desert. She defies everyone to return and find the truth, betting her survival on a dream.

Jake Spenser’s years as an agent are over, but he teaches desert survival to others. He’s vowed never to return to Ankria, but when his nephew is missing, he must use Rachel to find him.

Through danger and betrayal, Jake and Rachel find a dream can become true.

9 comments on “Interview with Author Barbara Edwards

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Author Barbara Edwards « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

  2. I miss spring and fall too here in Florida. I just can’t get used to the hot, humid, summers.
    I can’t wait to read Ancient Awakenings, it’s my kinda story.
    Good luck and I hope you sell a ton of books!

  3. I love the idea of ley lines under the area. I used to have a friend who lived in Connecticut that swore she saw an Indian in full buckshin dress sitting on her lawn one morning. Another time he appeared in her closet. Very interesting area, full of spirits, odd energy, and the promise of mystery. Your book sounds like a winner. Good luck…

  4. Barbara–Interesting plot line–the fact that you dreamed it about a cemetery. I’ve had numerous vivid dreams that I thought–that’d make a good story. I enjoyed learning more about you. Celia

    • Hi Celia,
      I had nightmares about that cemetery when I was young, but hadn’t thought of it in years when ‘BINGO’ it turned up. It’s still a spooky place. I drove by recently and couldn’t get out of my car.

Leave a Reply

