Interview with Author Rebecca Rose

Welcome folks to the April 18, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today my guest is recently published romance writer, Rebecca Rose. She has been kind enough to pop into my little corner of the universe for a chat. So grab a cup of Joe, a square of gooey butter cake, pull up a chair, and join me in welcoming Rebecca to The Fox Hole!

Avail @ Lyrical Press

Welcome, Rebecca, it’s a wonderful to have you here at The Fox Hole. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

Hello, every one! I’m Rebecca Rose. I’m published with Lyrical Press, Inc. and loving it. My first novel Divine Turmoil came out last November in eBook form and will be in Print August 1st. Very exciting! The follow-up to it, Divine Redemption, will be out later this year. I’m giddy thinking about it. 🙂 On a personal level, I have three kids that range in age from 6 to 14. I’ve been married to my husband for 16 years. Thank goodness he cooks because we’d be living on take-out and frozen or prepared foods. I’ve been known to burn water!

Sounds like you’re very lucky in the family department. Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I always wrote when I was young. Poems, sayings, short stories, I used to have them hanging all around my room. After high school though, life became very busy and it took a backseat to family. I decided my writing couldn’t be put off anymore when my two oldest children were in full time school. LOL A week later I found out I was pregnant with our “Pleasant Surprise”. So, I set myself a deadline, the book needed to be done by the time I gave birth. Jack and Divine Turmoil were born within weeks of each other.

That’s a fantastic little story–two births within weeks. *laughs* As a writer, Rebecca, what inspires you?

Family and music, mostly. My family has such characters in it! We’ve been told watching us interact with each other is like watching Married with Children, Simpsons, and Everybody Loves Raymond all at the same time. LOL I guess that was a complement, well…. at least that’s how we took it!

Music is such an inspiration to me. The stories you can get are amazing. David Nail has a song called, Red Light. It’s about how his girlfriend tells him they’re over while they’re sitting at a red light. The breakup came out of nowhere and he’s totally stunned by it. I can’t help wondering, what did he do after she told him? What led her to do it? Where were they headed, what was his response after the initial shock wore off? 🙂 I’m very nosy and in love with Country Music!

I think being nosy is a requirement for being a writer. My mom used to tell me curiosity killed the cat and I was that damn cat. The country music I get, I grew up listening to the classic country artists myself. Music is definitely an inspiration, but do you have any favorite writers?

Hands down, Nora Roberts and Sandra Brown. I also enjoy Barbara Delinsky and Sandra Sookoo. I’m branching out quite a bit and discovering so many others. As a new reviewer, I’m finding it exciting because I’m one of those people who sticks to one or two authors and reads nothing else. I can’t believe how much I’ve missed over the years!

I wish I was like you about the books. Send me to a bookstore and I’m like a kid in a bloody candy store. *laughs* Now for something a little fun. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Gosh this going to sound soooo corny! I love where I am right now. This time and place is me. I’m a fiercely independent woman and need a lot of space, so I don’t think I would have fit well into the past. And with the future I feel as if I’d be missing out on the adventure of getting there. So, that wouldn’t be any fun for me. The here and now is where it’s at. LOL

Can’t blame you for that. I’m not sure I could deal  without my independence either. So, my next question is one of my favorite ones to ask. Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask everyone this. Do you have a favorite food?

I LOVE FOOD! Meat with a side order of meat is a favorite of mine. Bison, beef, pork, chicken (no turkey), liver, snake, rabbit. Being Hypoglycemic (low blood sugar) since my teens has stopped me from being the next 600 lbs woman. I’m careful with my pasta and I’ve convinced myself that I don’t like sweets. Mmm… seafood! Lobster, crap, muscles, scallops. All the stinky vegetables; cauliflower, broccoli, spinach. And Coffee. We must not forget that coffee is in the major food groups! LOL

Oh, my publisher would love you. To her Coffee is the most important food group. And may I say I love that you like rabbit. My friends think I’m weird that I’ve eaten rabbit as well as frog legs. *snickers* Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

Divine Redemption, what a wonderful bond I have with this book. The story was written in three weeks and I’m so proud of it because, as any artist will tell you: You did it once, that’s awesome! Now do it again, but better. How many times has a sequel come out and left you disappointed? I was soooo worried about that. But when the story was done and the editing began, WOW I did it! 🙂 It’s such a sexy adventure!

Avail @ Lyrical Press

Blurb for Divine Redemption:

WARNING: This novel contains M/F romance, action, and explicit sex.

Sometimes Redemption Is The Only Salvation Needed To Forgive Yourself.

In his first selfless act Donald Write takes a bullet for a man he just met, Daniel Allen. Now he’s changed his name and moved across the country to live with Daniel’s family whose welcoming home reception wasn’t very warm.

Jacqueline is Daniel’s daughter. This soft spoken, well dressed lady soon teaches Donald that looks can be deceiving and her heart can be his if he’s willing to open up and except her gift of love.

Donald hadn’t counted on the intense and immediate attraction to Jacqueline. She’s the boss’s daughter and off limits; that is until he finds himself with an irresistible primal need to be with her. She shows him love in a way he’s never felt before and gives him the strength to become the better man he’s always wanted to be. But how can Donald touch and care for someone so pure of heart when their future can be destroyed by his past? A future built on redemption and second chances.

Excerpt from Divine Turmoil:

The rest of the week passed in a blur. Serena was too busy between visiting her mother and preparing to bring her home from the hospital to even think about Brian. Or at least dream about him as much as she wanted to.

When Sunday arrived, Serena was thankful. She had plans to join her sister Hope’s family in going to the town fair and eat lots of foods high in fat and calories. They’d play some games that no one usually wins, and then watch the fireworks while sitting on a blanket in the giant field. The fireworks were always her favorite part of the fair. She could sit on the ground as the air cooled after the hot day, and relax. She’d sip some ice-cold beverage, talk and rest while her niece played on the playscape near by.

When the knock came on the screen door, Serena happily yelled an enthusiastic, “Come in! I’m down the hall!” Given she’d spent the morning making sure the yard was in the best shape possible for her mother’s arrival the next afternoon, she was running a little late and still getting dressed after her shower. Serena was just pulling on her shirt when she heard Brian’s voice.

“Hey, babe. I’ve come to join you, Hope and Will.” Brian walked right into Serena’s room, since the door had been left open.

Serena caught a glimpse of the heat rising in Brian’s cheeks before he turned his back to her. God, he’s cute was her first thought. “Knocking’s nice, sweetie.”

“I did knock. You told me to come in, remember?”

He was embarrassed, Serena realized. And this wasn’t a man that would embarrass easily.

“Sorry,” Brian said in more of an accusing tone than an apologetic one.

“It’s nothing you haven’t seen before on another woman. Hey,” she said putting a hand on his shoulder, “it’s okay.”

“Sorry,” he said again.

He was watching her so intently, Serena felt heat rise from her toes to wake every nerve in her body. “Really… It’s o…okay.”

“No, it’s not.”

Before she knew what was happening, one of his hands was in her hair, while the other wrapped around her waist, pulling her close. His mouth was savage on hers, and his tongue demanded hers to play. It only took Serena a second to register what was happening. She was becoming a prisoner to Brian’s desires. Without thought, her hands went possessively into his hair and her body responded to his in a violent need.

The world spun away from them. Brian’s lips were full and soft with a mouth teeming of potent flavors. When his hand streaked up Serena’s back, her breath hitched and her hands began to roam, creating a hurricane of sensations that rushed through the both of them. She could feel the tight muscles under his shirt, and whimpered at the thought of feeling them without any barriers. When Serena pressed her nails into Brian’s shoulders, he trembled. This is quickly going to get out of hand, she realized, if I don’t do something.

Brian stepped back at the same time she did. His eyes were glued to her mouth, which was still slightly parted and swollen. He cupped her face and looked intently into her eyes. “My God, Serena, you’re driving me crazy.”

Serena tried to say something, but nothing came out. They both stepped farther away from one another when they heard the rap on the door. Hope’s voice carried through the house as Serena emerged from the hallway trying not to appear like she’d just gotten done doing something naughty.

“You seem a bit pale, Serena. Are you feeling all right?” Whatever she would have said next was lost when Hope saw Brian also emerging from the hall. “Oh! Did I interrupt something?” She gave Serena an accusing look, as if to say ‘I can’t leave you alone for more than a minute without you getting into trouble’. “You’re still planning to come with us, right? You did promise Lizzy.”

“Of course I’m still coming. I don’t know what’s going through that head of yours, but I’m pale because I spent the morning doing the lawn and I’m a little tired.” She gave Hope an insolent glare. “We’ll meet you in the car. I have to find my sandals.”

“Well, make it quick.” With that, Hope tromped out the door.

“That girl could use a vacation and some good ole lusty sex.” Brian nodded his head in agreement with himself.

“She makes me feel like I just got done doing something sinful and got caught by my mother. Damn her!” Serena said in a raised voice.

“Yeah!” Brian said, shaking a fist. “Let’s get her.”

Serena couldn’t help but laugh. It was as if Brian knew exactly what would melt away all the tension. “Come on, Bri,” she said, looping her arm through his after grabbing her sandals. “If we take too long, she’ll think we’re having a quickie.”

Brian raised his eyebrow mischievously. “She has a dirty mind, eh? How about you?”

Serena winked at him. “It runs in the family.”

“I’d like to see what your mind could come up with sometime.”

“I bet you would.”

~*~

Well, you’ve caught my attention without a doubt and I don’t usually read M/F! 🙂

Unfortunately, our time has come to an end now, but you’re welcome to come back for a visit anytime. That you for taking time out of your busy schedule to sit and chat with me, Rebecca.

If you’re interested in learning more about  Rebecca Rose and her work please check out the following links:

Publisher/s: http://www.lyricalpress.com

Website: www.authorrebeccarose.com

Blog: http://authorrebeccarose.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/authorRrose

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/profile.php?id=1171129159

Other:

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/user/show/2373263-rebecca-rose

One comment on “Interview with Author Rebecca Rose

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Author Rebecca Rose « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

