Interview with Author David Sullivan

Welcome to the April 25, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today’s interview marks my 30th interview! *tosses confetti* Yeah, I’m just as surprised as you are that I’ve managed to get this far. *grins & giggles* Today writer David Sullivan is here as my celebratory interview. So lets all grab a cup of Joe, one of those fancy French pastries (who brought those anyway?), grab a seat, and welcome David to The Fox Hole Club!

Avail @ loveyoudivine

Welcome David thank you for taking the time to set down for an interview. Let’s start with telling the readers a little bit about yourself.

I’m 100% Italian, born near New York City, moved to the San Francisco Bay Area in high school, stayed 35 years and now live on the Southern Oregon Coast. I’m out as a Renaissance Man: retired cop, retired martial arts instructor, union rep, massage therapist (since 1983), dog trainer, auto mechanic, oh, and an author.

Wow, sounds like you’ve lived an amazing and varied life. The question is have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I only recently wanted to be an author, but I’ve had an interest in writing since high school where I signed up for a creative writing class that began at 7:00 A.M.

That’s pretty damn early for most teenagers. *chuckles* You must have been very interested in writing.  So as a writer now what inspires you?

The purpose of my life is to serve, and thus, as corny as this may sound, I want to help people. I’ve taught many subjects over decades. Now that I’m interested in romance writing, I still want to help. In my fiction I add real life, such as, meditation, or imagery, or massage or acupuncture for characters in crisis.

I love that answer. It’s nice to hear there are writers out there that add reality to the romance genre. We could all do with a little reality even in romance in my humble opinion. One of the things I’ve discovered doing these interviews is that most writers are voracious readers. Do you have any favorite writers?

No. I float and rove. I gave up fiction in my 20s to pursue my goal to become perfect via seminars and self-help books. WAG (wise-assed grin.) I’ve only been back to fiction in the past year. And no, I never became perfect. (I know you were going to ask.)

You’re one hell of a mind reader. *chuckles* And I have to say you’re the first writer I’ve interviewed that didn’t  have a list of favorite writers the length of my arm. That’s refreshing. Now I’m afraid to ask the next question being as you’re more reality based in your thought process, but what the hell. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

That’s a hard one since all eras have their good and bad sides. I love history and I think I’m most attracted to the Renaissance times in Italy.

Now see I wasn’t expecting you to have an answer. Renaissance Italy is a fabulous. Some of my favorite artists are from that period. Now here’s one of my favorite questions to ask. Having been a professional cook at one time, I always need to know what kind of food my interviewees enjoy and if they have a favorite. Do you? Have a favorite food that is. 😀

I love to cook and have been a better cook than all boyfriends, girlfriends and the one ex-wife. I like all types of foods, my fav is one-dish, casseroles or stir-fry.

Comfort food as my mother liked to call it. *grins* Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

Are you sure?

Absolutely!

In 2009 my first book, Wisdom is the Answer, Common Sense is the Way, a self-help or success book, was published under my first name, James Giambrone Jr. As I finished that I began my next publication, Officer Needs Help. It’s about a closeted bisexual police officer in 1977. He is a pacifist and sadly forced to kill someone in the line of duty. That happened to me in 1977. I changed the scene and aftermath but I hope I relay to readers the trauma to an officer in these situations and how their lives go to hell. Personally, I was frighteningly close to suicide. Even though I wrote it 32 years later, I realized I still had healing to get through. Many tears were shed but amazingly, when I got the acceptance notice from my angel of a publisher, Claudia at LoveYouDivine, my sleep improved. That story is written as David Sullivan, but since January I’ve decided to come out and allow my names to merge.

That’s fantastic! Please continue.

Stories in progress? Is My Halo on Straight?, a story about a police officer who moonlights as a massage therapist. It’s a comedy, maybe romance. A short story, Stopped For Speeding, about a bisexual divorcee stopped by a female police officer. Waiting to Die, a novel about a twenty-year-old bisexual Italian who may have a genetic heart disease and is afraid of his sexuality and love. He bed-hops until a special person comes along. There are a few others that I’m working on, but I’m trying to be shy.

No need to be shy around me. I’m probably the most obnoxious creature ever when you get to know me. *snickers* Especially when it comes to writing. It sounds like you’re being quite the busy bee in that arena.

I’ve been a bad boy and have failed to get into the social networking arena such as Facebook, etc.

Well, being a bad boy can be a good thing sometimes. *waggles eyebrows & laughs* I really do need to behave myself. Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to drop by for a visit. Unfortunately, we’re out of time, but you’re welcome to come visit any time in the future.

Now good readers if you’d like to learn a little more about David Sullivan and his work check out the following links:

Publisher/s: loveyoudivine & Robert D. Reed Publishers

Website: Common Sense America – Where there are success articles to improve health. Check them out, they’re free.

2 comments on “Interview with Author David Sullivan

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Author David Sullivan « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

  2. i don’t know how i found this interview as i did some research but i wnat to know if david is single and available? i’ve seen lots of BORING interviews. this one was cute and fun

Leave a Reply

