Interview with Author Nina Pierce

Welcome to the May 16, 2010 edition. Today I have as a guest a lovely writer who almost got away. Yeah, this could have been one of those fish stories that the old salts like to tell around the docks, but this ain’t no fish story and my name isn’t Ahab. *snickers* So folks grab yourself a cup of Joe, some turtle cheesecake (don’t ask!), snag a seat around the fire on this nippy spring morning, and help me give a warm welcome to Ms. Nina Pierce!

Avail @ Ellora's Cave

Welcome to The Fox Hole, Nina. I’m tickled pink that we worked all the kinks out and got you over here to my little neck of the woods.   I’d love it if you could start by telling the readers a little bit about yourself?

I grew up on the beaches of southern Maine, but currently live in the willy wags of the great white north (think Canadian border) smack dab in the middle of potato country. And even though it was a quiet place to raise three children … I cannot wait to move back to civilization! I’m definitely a city-type gal. I married my high school sweetheart *mumble mumble* years ago and have him to entertain me and keep me company.

I have a degree in Marine Biology, but never worked “in the field”. I found myself in education instead and loved every minute of it. I’m a risk-taker at heart living out my dreams by skydiving, hot-air ballooning and white water rafting.

A degree in Marine Biology sounds fascinating, but the fact you haven’t worked in the field doesn’t surprise me. Very few of us end up where we think we’ll be when we’re younger. At least you found your way to something you love and education is such an important field to be in. You’re a hell of a lot braver than I girl. *chuckles* I can’t see myself being ballsy enough to jump out of a plane, but more power to you! Have you always had that dream of being a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I can’t say I’ve always wanted to be a writer though I’ve been a storyteller for a long time. When I was younger I used to make up stories about the people in the cars we passed as we traveled. I kept a diary starting around 4th grade right up until high school. I loved journaling every day. In high school and college my love of research combined with my writing as I pumped out scientific papers … yeah, I was the student that always ruined the curve.

Hell, there’s nothing wrong with that. I was that student too. Didn’t make you popular with the other students, but it tickled the teachers. 😉

My first love has always been teaching. I taught science for nearly twenty years until my multiple sclerosis reared its ugly head and forced my retirement. Little did I know my muse would do cartwheels of joy when I decided to write fulltime. I’ve always been a voracious reader of romance so it was no surprise when stories of love and soul mates found their way to the page.

Well, as my mother used to say When one door closes another opens. It’s a wonderful thing that you found a second career when few people get to discover one. Now as a writer what inspires you?

Oh, what doesn’t inspire me? Seriously. There is always a “what if” coming from everyday situations; like an overheard conversation in the grocery store or the tragedy on the local news or the heartwarming tale in the newspaper. That’s how many of my stories begin … “What if there was a terrible plague?” (Healer’s Garden) “What if fires were killing vampires?” (Shadows of Fire) “What if cougar and wolf shifters were fighting over lands?” (Shifting Bonds series) “What if …” well, you get the idea.

I’m also very visual (which is funny since I’m nearly as blind as a bat) so often times something I see will trigger a story. It could be a picture or a place I’ve visited. Sometimes a song will spark an idea. Okay, like I said, anything and everything can inspire me. *g*

I’m glad to know I’m not the only one out there that finds inspiration in numerous things including the visual. Funny that, we have a bit in common there. I’m legally blind in one eye and if not for my glasses I’d more than likely walk into a wall. *snickers* Now, I love to ask the next question. I feel it reveals a lot about a writer. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I think I would love to have lived with the Indians on the western plains of North America. I know it was a hard life, but I can’t help romanticizing it. It just seems like it would have been awesome to be part of a tribal community where everyone worked for the good of the community. It definitely seems like it would be a much simpler existence than the one we live today. A life dependent on the earth to provide. And of course in my world there would be an Indian warrior who wanted only me and would fight for my hand. A man who would be fierce on the outside, but with a gentle heart and hands. *sigh* Umm … what was I saying?

Oh right, Indians. Yeah, that’s when I would like to have lived.

I have to say I agree about the tribal community. Modern people have lost that sense of community and oneness that the Native Americans among many peoples had. Oh, and those gentle hands and heart don’t sound half-bad either. *grins*

The next question you can blame on my being a professional cook at one time. Besides food can be quite sensual and revealing. Do you have a favorite food?

Italian anything. I love pastas and white sauce especially. Add a nice wine to compliment the dish and I’m in food nirvana. Why? Did you want to whip a little something-something up for me? *g*

I’d love to, especially since pasta, Italian in particular was one of my specialties. *chuckles* Don’t get me started though or I’ll forget what we’re here for–your writing! Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

My newest is a futuristic erotic romantic suspense ménage (whew, say that three times fast) that’s coming JUNE 9 from Ellora’s Cave titled A Touch of Lilly. I love, love, love this story. It takes place on another planet.

Here’s the blurb:

Ex-Chicago detective Lilly D’Angelo is part of a secret alien race living on earth. With a gentle caress she can elevate the sexual energy of any male. Apprehending criminals lost in an erotic fugue is almost too easy—until she uses her gift on the wrong alien. Kidnapped and shipped into deep space, Lilly barely escapes with her life. Now she travels the galaxy alone working as a bounty hunter and hoping to find a soul mate unaffected by her touch.

Agent Dallas Sawyer works for QAL—deep space’s version of the FBI. After a disastrous mission that left a president murdered, his team member executed, and Dallas near death, he’s determined to take down the assassin targeting government officials. When a sexy human female gets between him and his goal, Dallas and his alien partner find themselves on the receiving end of some wild sex and a proposition that may very well blow up in their faces.

Because in deep space … true love can happen with just a touch.

~~~~~~~~~~~~

But if you’re too impatient to wait for that you can dive right into my wolf/cougar shifter series also from Ellora’s Cave. It begins with Bonded Souls and continues with Bonded by Need. I’m currently working on the third book in the series. I’ve really found great pleasure in writing paranormal erotic romance.

Those sound like some exciting stories. I think I’m going to have to check out your work closer. Sadly, we are at the end of our time together. Thanks for taking the time out of your busy schedule to sit and have a chat.

Thanks for having me at the Fox Hole!

You’re welcome and here’s to your continued success in everything you do. If you’re interested in learning more about Nina’s work feel free to check out the links below:

Website: http://www.ninapierce.com

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/ninapierce

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/ninapierce

Author’s Page @ Ellora’s Cave: http://www.jasminejade.com/m-535-nina-pierce.aspx

9 comments on “Interview with Author Nina Pierce

  1. Yo, Nina! How is life in the Fox Hole? Did you see that cute little white critter running around over here? (I want one, btw)

    Glad to see you have a new futuristic coming out. One of my favorite genres. Jesse, thanks for having one of my favorite authors drop by. I like the way you interview and it’s fun to see the interaction between you and the various people you talk to.

    • Thank you, Kayelle. It took some minor juggling, but I got Nina in here and it was a pleasure.

      I’m glad you enjoy my interview-style. When I started this I thought how so many people, myself included, really liked getting to know the author beyond their work. I try to make it fun for the author as well as the readers. I’m tickled that I’ve managed to do that. 🙂

    • Hey AKayelle! Thanks for stopping over. I am absolutely in LOVE with this story! I can’t wait for it to be released into the world. It was so much fun creating this world!

Leave a Reply

