Interview with Author Nicole Zoltack

Welcome to a special Tuesday edition of The Fox Hole! Yeah, sometimes the Ethernet decides to swallow e-mails and generally wreck havoc upon the best laid plans. In this case though the blogger and her guest won the fight and the Ethernet limped off into the corner to pout and grumble. Today my guest by the skin of my teeth and possibly hers is the lovely Nicole Zoltack. So grabbed that Java pull up a seat and join me in welcoming Nicole to the fold!

The Lovely Nicole Zoltack

Welcome to The Fox Hole, Nicole, it’s wonderful to have you and a miracle indeed considering G-mail ate your interview the first time around. I always love to have folks tell the readers a little bit about themselves first. So, shoot! 🙂

I love to read and write – I don’t hold myself to one genre in either. Fantasy, Paranormal, Romance, YA, Mystery, True Crime, Historical… That’s for reading. The only one I haven’t tried yet to write is True Crime. Well and mystery but I have a great PI character thought up so I have ideas for mystery stories, although I’m not sure how they will turn out since I’m mostly a panster, not a plotter. But I’m willing to try. 🙂

Well, that makes two pansters at the table today. I’ve been known to swing from the occasional chandelier as well. *chuckles* My apologies please continue, Nicole.

I’m huge into the Middle Ages and the Renaissance. I love going to the local Renaissance Faire and dressing up in period garb. My hubby and I even have a sword collection, plus I planned our Renaissance-themed wedding! There are a few pictures on my website and more on my facebook page.

That wedding must have been quite beautiful. I’ll have to check out the photos when I get a moment.

My family is definitely the most important part of my life. I don’t know what I would do without them. I have a wonderful hubby and a precious little boy. I’m also expecting the beginning of June. So my all-important family is still growing!

Congratulations! There’s nothing more wonderful than family and to have another bundle of joy on the way is a fabulous way to start off the summer. Perhaps you have a NY Times Bestselling writer on the way. 😉 Speaking of writers have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I always wanted to be a writer, even before I could write. I used to (still do!) daydream all the time about different characters and their lives. I think I first started writing stories in the 1st grade. During (yes, during class) 6th grade, I started my first novel. In high school, I wrote a lot of (bad) poetry. During college, my one sister (I have 5 siblings, this one also wants to be a writer) introduced me to Nano (National Novel Writing Month, when authors around the world try to write a 50K novel in November) so I started to write novels again and have ever since.

Sounds like you might just have a couple of future writers on your hands since it seems to run in the family. And it seems that we share more in common than just the panster thing–I have notebooks of bad poetry myself. *snickers* It’s amazing how much writers can have in common when we start chatting. There are also a great number of shared inspirations so for my next question–what inspires you as a writer?

Everything. I can’t think of anything that doesn’t. Movies, TV shows, my family, people-gawking at the mall, books, dreams. Dreams are a big one for me. Considering that I write a lot of fantasy, that says something about my dreams, huh?

It does say a great deal about your dreams. Dreams can be amazing and fantastical. As a matter of fact my second novel was inspired by an image from a dream so I can definitely relate to the dream thing. Now most of the writers I’ve interviewed are voracious readers. Do you have any favorite writers?

Too many to list! Currently, I’ve been reading Kelley Armstrong. Now that I got back from the Lori Foster Get Together, I have so many ‘new’ used books to read, it’s incredible.

I know the feeling. My book collection seems to multiply every time I turn my back. 😀 I’m going to go ahead and ask you this question although I’m pretty sure what the answer is going to be. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Avail @ Desert Breeze Publishing

Definitely back in the Middle Ages, shortly before the Renaissance started.

See now I knew that was what you were going to say. Now here’s one of my favorites to ask. Once upon a time I was a professional cook and I have to admit I find food sexy not to mention the fact it can be quite revealing of one’s personality. Do you have a favorite food?

Everything Italian. I could eat Italian food every day of the week! Give me sauce, pasta, cheese, and meat, and I’m yours. 🙂

Goodness! I’m starting to believe we’re twins separated at birth or at least brain twins. Italian was my specialty when I was a cook–anything involving pasta and sauces. *chuckles* Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Avail @ Desert Breeze Publishing

Knight of Glory is my latest solo work. The sequel to Woman of Honor, it focuses on Geoffrey and the world outside of the Kingdom of Arnhem. War between Speica and Arnhem is growing strong, and Geoffrey gives himself a quest – that he and his small band convince some allies (dwarves and trolls) to join the fight. Along the way, he finds himself torn between too very different women. Will he survive the upcoming battles in order to discover which woman he truly loves?

That sounds fantastic I’ll have to add yet another book to my list of NEED TO READ. I’ve had a lovely time chatting with you Nicole, but unfortunately our time has come to an end. Thank you so much for taking the time to join me here at The Fox Hole and sharing yourself and your writing with my readers. You’re welcome back anytime for a chat.

If you would like to learn more about Nicole and her work check out the following links:

Publisher: http://www.desertbreezepublishing.com

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/scarlett9284

Website: http://www.NicoleZoltack.com

Blog: http://nicolezoltack.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/NicoleZoltack

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Nicole.Zoltack

Other: http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nicole-Zoltack/93384618347

5 comments on “Interview with Author Nicole Zoltack

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Author Nicole Zoltack « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

  2. Great interview! I went to a Renaissance faire once, and loved it. Unfortunately they don’t have them anywhere near where I live now.

    I’m jealous about the Renaissance-theme wedding. That sounds amazing. 😀

    Congrats on the newest member of your family!

Leave a Reply

