Interview with Author Jaime Samms

Welcome to the June 13, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. Today I have multi-published gay romance author and Dark Diva reviewer Jaime Samms! So go grab a cheese danish, a cup of joe, pull up a chair and help me give a HUGE Foxie welcome to Jaime.

Avail @ Freya's Bower

Welcome to The Fox Hole Jaime it’s a pleasure to have you here in my lil’ ol’ neck of the woods. I always like to start these little soirees with the author telling the readers a little bit about themselves.

Well, what would you like to know? Sure, I have a couple kids, and a spouse, and a day job. We home school and entertain cats who think they own the place. I’m also a reviewer for Dark Divas Reviews, Kuriousity.com. Anything else?

Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

Off and on, for what amounts to most of my life, now, yeah.  I wrote my first story that other people were allowed to read when I was about fifteen.

As a writer what inspires you?

What doesn’t? Little things like an odd turn in a path, or snippet of conversation, big things like a broken heart. Most stuff in between.

Most writers I interview are voracious readers by nature it seems. Are you one of those writers and do you have any favorite writers?

Sure. I love reading Tanya, Huff, Mercedes Lackey, Clare London, Carol Lynne, and I truly admire Carol, as well, for her patience and strength in doing what she loves for a living. Patric Michael is another of my heroes, for his constant good humour and support of his fellow authors, no matter what else he’s facing in the day. He’s a fantastic guy.

Writers who support each other are fabulous. I figure we’re all in the same boat and should do exactly that. Now I always love this question. I feel it gives the readers a peep into the writer’s personality. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I really mostly like my life. If I could transplant it to the East Coast (of Canada) or to Scotland, there’s a chance I’d like it a bit more, but all things considered, I’m really learning to appreciate what I have.

I can appreciate that. 🙂 Another favorite of mine is this one. Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask–Do you have a favorite food?

*cheeky grin* Peanut butter toast. I kid you not. It’s comfort food.

Comfort food is fantastic and as a matter of fact I adore peanut butter on toast myself. *chuckles* Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Which one? 😀 I currently have two very recent releases; Life After from Freya’s Bower, which is about a man who has lost pretty much all of the things he thought were important to him, and doesn’t quite know where to turn, and the man who has decided to chuck his entire existence and go back to something simpler and safer. One is a high powered lawyer who’s never know life to be uncomplicated, and the other is a gardener who let his life get too complex to enjoy. Life After is about finding simplicity and accepting that things don’t have to be hard, even when you’re hurting.

Blurb from Life After:

John Brennon is at the end of his rope. His career is on the rocks, and his love life has died along with his unborn child. He finds small comfort with other mourners on a cold stone bench in a tiny cemetery where the overgrown gardens and tangled bushes echo his mood.

Kyle has decided it’s time to bury his own past, and do some spring cleaning in his life, and he’s going to start with the lonely, dishevelled man occupying space in his graveyard. One small misunderstanding might just nip their chances in the bud, however, when John’s ex girlfriend interrupts their first date.

My second release is called Spinning, and is about Ken, a man who has completely lost himself and decides to turn to an ex-lover, Mikko to find some sort of meaning. He’s had his heart broken, and can’t seem to recover. Mikko has been waiting for Ken to turn to him, and hopes he has just the firm hand Ken needs to heal. It’s a little bit of D/s, and a lot of learning to love and trust again.

Blurb from Spinning:

Ken has fallen in love twice in his unnaturally long life. He’s spent the rest of it trying to forget what falling out of it feels like. Not even the end of civilization has distracted him from his own misery, and now, desperate and achingly lonely, he calls the one person who’s never hung up on him.

Mikko lost Ken once, letting life get in the way of love, and ever since the day Ken ran, he’s been trying to track him down. He’s honed his skills over the years, tracking Ken through the morass of men and ugly affairs, waiting for the chance to make things right.

Ken thinks his messy past is a secret from Mikko, and is too ashamed to admit any of it. Mikko has secrets of his own, things he’s discovered about their very nature he’s sure Ken’s not ready to hear. Back together, after years of cat and mouse, Ken has to learn to trust a man he knows isn’t telling him everything, and Mikko has to figure out how to fix something his own negligence might have destroyed beyond hope of repair.

These sound like some wonderful stories. Thank you for sharing your life, thoughts, and work with us here at The Fox Hole. Unfortunately, our time has come to an end, but you’re always welcome to drop by again, Jaime.

For those of you who would like to learn more about Jaime Samms and her work check out the following links:

Publishers:

Life After @ Freya’s Bower

Spinning @ Pink Petal Books

You can also find more of Jaime’s published works at the following:

Loveyoudivine Alterotica

Total E-Bound

and coming soon

Dreamspinner Press

Jaime’s Facebook

Author’s Website

Author’s Blog

Jaime’s Twitter

14 comments on “Interview with Author Jaime Samms

  1. Thank you for the interview..

    I have read a few of Ms Samm’s work and I did enjoy them… I will go check out those two recent works you mention..

    I love your answer to the little things that inspire you…

    and Scotland is not all – it’s bloody cold (imagine me saying that with an accent and a aga stove warming my arse) and there’s no men walking around in kilt… pity…

    Thank you for the interview Jesse…

    E.H>

    • Shameful I took so long t answer these comments. I’m so sorry. Life…happned…

      As for Scotland, I guess you’re probably right about the cold, but I live in Northern Ontario. I think Scotland would be ok. 🙂 It is apitty about the lack of Kilts, though.

      Thank you for readig my stuff. I hope you like the new stories.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Interview with Author Jaime Samms « Jesse Fox -- Topsy.com

  3. Wow! Thank you so much for the great compliment, Jaime! Great interview, and I agree with you on Patric Michael. I read his blog daily and he inspires me to try and see the beauty in the small things that happen throughout my day.

  4. Jaime and Jesse, love the interview!

    I’ve been a fan of Jaime’s for awhile now and each and every story always opens up for me another facet of human nature, what it is that makes us tick, makes us unique. Her stories are some that I will never tire of because there is always something new to be found in the pages.

  5. Jaime… I haven’t the least clue what to say, except that I am touched and flattered. Thank you, and thank you for a wonderful interview.

    You rock, lady!

    And Carol, if you see this…. Muaah!!

    🙂

    • As do you, Patric. It never ceases to amaze me how you can be there for people, whatever else is going on. I love your writing, but the way you’ve touched my life goes a lot deeper than that. You’ve taught me a few things, and I’m increadibly grateful to know you in some small way.

      Jaime

Leave a Reply

