Interview with Author Norman W. Wilson, PH.D

Welcome to the July 18, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole! Yeah, the pup and I have been missing the past two weeks and that’s a long arsed story for another time. We’re back though and just in time to welcome a lovely fellow we’ve chatted with a few times and he’s been a friend to The Fox Hole’s home by making us feel that someone reads our ramblings on occasion. So, folks grab a cup of Joe, a sticky cinnamon bun, pull up a chair and help the pup and I give a warm welcome to Norman Wilson, PH.D!

Coming Fall 2010

Welcome to The Fox Hole, Dr. Wilson thank you so much for taking the time out of your schedule to visit. Could you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I am a retired college professor. My areas of teaching included literature, composition, philosophy, ethics, world mythology, and two courses in the humanities. I’m the author and co-author of college textbooks in the humanities.

In 1994 I began writing my first speculative novel called The Quest, Seeking the New Adam. It was published in 2000. And believe me that was much more difficult than writing a textbook. It was and is a great learning experience.

Today, I have over 100 articles published on the internet. They may be found at EzineArticles.com, ArticlesBase.com, etc.

I see from what you’ve said that you’ve had varied experiences as a professor teaching some fantastic subjects, but have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I wrote my first short story when I was in second grade. It was about the feelings of an eraser on the top of a pencil. Next came my first play in fourth grade. I got into trouble over that one because I had invited the whole school to come and see it. That ended my playwriting. Junior High and Senior High School found me involved in the newspaper and yearbook. I wrote a column about school activities for the local paper.

It seems all of us that possess that strong creative spark can and do get into trouble at some point. *chuckles* As a writer what inspires you?

Human values or the lack of. The characters in my novels have a deep abiding belief in the value of the Self. Without valuing oneself, how can one value others?

Point taken. That’s very similar to what I often tell friends although I don’t put it quite as eloquent as you do. Now most writers I’ve interviewed are voracious readers as well. I suspect you would be among them as well. Do you have any favorite writers?

Yes. Far too many to mention all of them here. But topping the list would be Aeschylus, Charles Dickens, C.S. Lewis, Ayn Rand, James Rollins, David Morrell. Recently I’ve begun reading a couple erotic romances. Whew! That Charlotte Boyette-Compo sure makes the pages sizzle as can Margie Church.

Classics as well as modern, that’s a nice selection, and yes Charlotte does have a reputation for knocking the proverbial socks off her readers. *grins* Now here’s one of my favorite questions. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Even though the main characters in my novels are Native Americans I would not want to have lived during their early period. I like creature comforts too much for that. Shangri-La probably.

Now that’s probably the most creative answer I’ve ever received–a man to my own heart. Shangri-La what a lovely idea, but we must move on to the next question. I often get a raised eyebrow on this one, but being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask. Do you have a favorite food?

Now you have put me on the spot. I write about food for Ehow.com sometimes. A favorite? I will have to say an Italian pasta with lots of cheese. Or maybe it’s Greek lamb. Or maybe it’s …..You get my drift. I like food.

Don’t we all? *laughs* Honestly, writers seem to be food connoisseurs as well. Frankly, I’ve rarely found a food I didn’t like. Good food and wine can often get my muses revving.  Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Thank you. I’m happy to talk about rewrite of my first novel in the Shamanic Mysteries Series. The book is now called The Shaman’s Quest. It is undergoing a final line edit and will be released by early fall. The main character is Adam Kadmon, a handsome, wealthy young man who is on a quest to find a mysterious shaman. Once they meet, the old begins to teach the young man and takes him on a mind-bending adventure into the mystical spirit world.

I am especially proud of the cover design by Stephen R Walker Designs out of Atlanta. The second and third books in the series are currently available on Amazon.com. They are Adam: The Transformation and Apocalyptic Adam. The Shaman’s Genesis is yet to be published. It continues the saga Adam Kadmon. He suffers continuous physical weakness unaware it is caused by the witch, Moon-Woman who takes extraordinary measures to kill him. The fifth book of the series is also completed, The Shaman’s Revelation, is yet to be put up for publication.

That sounds like a wonderful series and I’ll have to check it out, perhaps add it to my ever growing library. I do adore anything that blooms from the mystical side of existence, but my library unfortunately lacks in shamanistic fiction or even non-fiction. I’ll have to rectify that. Well, Norman it was wonderful to have you as a guest, but our time has come to an end.

Thank you so much, Jesse for inviting me to join you today. It has been a personal pleasure.

As it has for me as well. You’re welcome to stop by again anytime. 😀

For those of you who want to learn more about Norman Wilson and his work check out the links below:

Website: http://www.shamanicmysteries.com/

Face Book: http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100000165337303&ref=ts

Twitter: http://twitter.com/NWWPHD

My Space: http://www.myspace.com/nwwphd

4 comments on “Interview with Author Norman W. Wilson, PH.D

  1. Norman, your accomplishments are impressive! Good to read the “tip of the ice burg”, implying only that most of who and what we are usually lies below the level that meets the casual eye. Thanks to both of you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

