Interview with Angela Kay Austin

Welcome to my second special edition of The Fox Hole this week. Today I have a wonderful lady as my guest who is about to release her second book with Red Rose Publishing. She was kind enough to understand the fiasco that’s been me and the pup’s life for the past three weeks and did this lovely interview with little notice. So, everyone grab a cup of Joe, a sweet sticky apple fritter, pull up that chair, and help me give Ms. Angela Kay Austin a warm Fox Hole welcome!

Avail @ Red Rose Publishing

Welcome Angela I’m tickled that you were kind enough to do this interview on such short notice.  Being a writer myself I know how precious time can be. Why don’t we start out by having you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

After twenty years of practicing marketing: writing copy, designing layouts, developing advertising campaigns, I realized each piece of the plans I put together eventually told a story. And, since I was a tween reading her mother’s Reader’s Digest, and teen magazines I’d dreamt of telling stories.

My first book, “Love’s Chance” stayed on Red Rose Publishing’s Best Seller list for 10 weeks.

I’ve also written for webzines like Rithm ‘n Blues

Congratulations on the success of you first book. That must have been one hell of a boost to a newbie writer. I know I would have been dancing through the house. Now, you’ve sort of answered this question, but can you expand on your answer a bit. Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

My first pink and white diary was filled with everything: poetry, songs, and stories. Eventually, I began to submit to teen magazines. Nothing was ever published, and for a while I put it in the back of mind. I kept writing, but never did anything with it. A few years ago, the desire to do something with my writing arose again. So, I began to submit, and finally after years…Red Rose Publishing accepted Love’s Chance.

OMG! I had a little pink and white diary as a kid, Holly Hobby. Of course mine didn’t have much on the creative side in it. I’m always amazed at how most writers I’ve interviewed always knew they wanted to write on some level at a young age. Me–I was clueless. 😀

Every writer that I’ve spoke to has certain things that inspire them. As a writer what inspires you?

Everything. If I get stuck while writing, I stop and watch the news or grab a newspaper. They are filled with plot twist ideas.

Newspapers really? I’m lucky if I watch the news much less read it. *chuckles* Maybe I should give it a shot. Now I’ve discovered that most writers are voracious readers as well. Do you have any favorite writers?

I think at different times in my life I’ve favored different authors. But, generally, I love authors that create rich vivid worlds. Barbara Kingsoliver, Toni Morrison, Wally Lamb, Jane Green.

That’s a great list and it makes sense that as you grow and mature your tastes in reading material does as well. My next question is one of my favorites to ask. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Now in Italy.

Italy is a beautiful country and so rich, vibrant, and most importantly–romantic! And speaking of Italy, one of the best countries for excellent food and spirits, I used to be a professional cook at one time and have to ask this one. Do you have a favorite food?

This might sound so crazy, and I don’t eat it often…maybe that’s why I love it sooooo much lobster. I have a horrible allergy that developed after the age of 30. Why is life so cruel?

Lobster is excellent and that’s just an evil thing for fate to do to a gal. I had a friend who loved strawberries and fate did the same thing to him as well. Boy, fate is one fickle bitch–isn’t she? *sighs* Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

My latest work My Son will be released soon from Red Rose Publishing. It tells the story of misplaced trust, love and acceptance of yourself, abandonment, and forgiveness with a little bit of murder thrown in.

Murder always gets my attention, but then I’m a bit on the twisted side. *waggles eyebrows* Couple that with some angst and some sweet love and I’m there. I’m sure your readers are dying to get their hands on this one as well. I’d love to keep you for a bit longer, but unfortunately our time is over. It’s been a pleasure Angela and you’re more than welcome to come back in the future. Thank you and good luck!

If you would like to learn more about Angela Kay Austin and her work check out the following links:

Publisher: Red Rose Publishing

MySpace: www.MySpace.com/AngelaKayAustin

Website: www.AngelaKayAustin.com

Blog: www.AngelaKayAustin.blogspot.com

Twitter: www.Twitter.com/AngelaKayAustin

Facebook: www.Facebook.com/AngelaKayAustin

One comment on “Interview with Angela Kay Austin

  1. It was a pleasue to be your guest. Thanks again for having me! I can’t believe someone else had a pink and white diary…how many were made…oh a few million or so 😉 I thought I would create stories to change the world…still working on some of those masterpieces.

Leave a Reply

