Interview with Author N.S. Ugezene

Welcome to the August 08, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. This past week the pup and I have brought you multiple interviews mainly because our previous ISP provider decided to be a bunch of wankers. But now with this interview we’ve finally mad our way back to our regular schedule and hopefully we’ll have no further annoying interruptions. 😀

Now that we have that explanation, sad as it might be, we encourage you to grab a cup of Joe, one of those sweet pastries that the pup slaved in a hot kitchen over, pull up a chair, and help us give our guest author N.S. Ugezene a warm welcome.

Avail. @ Lulu

Welcome to The Fox Hole we’re pleased you could join us this morning! Could you start off by telling the readers a little bit about yourself?

I am a student at Argosy University. I am a huge wrestling fan. My favorite wrestlers are MVP, Kofi Kingston and John Cena. I also am a huge basketball fan and my favorite team is the Sacramento Kings. I am a fan of Northern California sports teams period. I reside in Southern California.

When I was younger I was a wrestling fan, but if I told you my favorites I’d give away my age and a lady never gives away that. *chuckles* Then again, some people would say I’m not very lady-like. Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I haven’t always wanted to be a writer. I started writing in elementary, whether it was song lyrics, poetry or short stories. In high school, I composed a collection of lyrics and in 2006, I typed up a manuscript which later became my official first title, Shaun Pascal.

You’re one of the few writers I’ve interviewed that have said that. I don’t feel so lonely anymore. 😉 Inspiration is a huge part of being a serious writer. As a writer what inspires you?

I can’t really determine my inspiration but I can say that I aim to do something outside of the box every time. I want to truly be creative or different since fiction is creative writing. I do not want to be bound by any strict rules and that is why I have so much love for fiction writing.

Most writers seem to be voracious readers as well. Do you have any favorite writers?

Yes. K’Wan, LaTonya Y. Williams, Chinua Achebe, Terry McMiullan, Arthur Nersesian, Noire. I prefer urban fiction writers or African American writers. I have books by James Patterson, Danielle Steele, Michael Crichton and Dean Koontz as well. I do novels that incorporate the streets. I will even read novels that have to do with religion. I try to achieve a variety in what I read.

Variety is a huge for me as a reader myself so I get that. The more you open yourself to the more interesting the world becomes. I love asking the next question because I feel it gives some unique insight to the type of person a writer is. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I would like to have lived in the 1960s or even the 1970s, in San Francisco. Oakland would be fine as well. I just dig the Bay Area. The hills could scare the hell out of you but Northern California just stands for so much more than Southern California. You do have to deal with what you’re given in my life, however.

That’s the fun though of being a writer. You can explore times and places you would love to visit. 🙂 Another question I believe gives us a little more insight is about food. Being a professional cook at one time, I have to ask–do you have a favorite food?

I absolutely love Italian food to death. It’s the best! There’s nothing else like it.

Italian was my specialty when I was in the business. Hell, I could live on Italian alone for the rest of my life. Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

My latest work will be The Beginnings of Urbaya. This is a city that I created that will be seated in the state of Illinois. This is a story that has the tiniest bit of manufactued history. There is a family tie present in the story. You know? Sort of like the show Family Ties. I consider this work mainstream, multicultural and slightly urban. It is another attempt for me to bend the spectrum because that is just the type of writer I am. I go against the grain, through the rain and that’s just the way I am like Eminem said.

Excerpt from The Beginnings of Urbaya

CHICAGO, IL-The Bulls were about to face off against the Indiana Pacers. A voice projected on the PA system.

“Hello, and welcome to the United Center. Tonight’s game will be the Indiana Pacers going up against your Chicago Bulls. Are you ready?”

The crowd roared.

The PA announcer listened to the reaction. “Sounds like you’re ready! The starting lineups are coming to you in two minutes! Let’s get a win, shall we?”

The starting lineups were announced and then tipoff happened. The Pacers won the tip. During the game, two minutes in to the 2nd quarter, Ron Artest made his way to a courtside seat.

“At this time I would like to ask that everyone in the United Center give a warm welcome to Sacramento Kings forward, Ron Artest.”

Many people in the crowd made noise. Ron Artest waved before sitting down to watch the game. Even the past is something quite unpredictable. Maybe if Ron Artest had still been in Chicago, it would have been possible that Elton Brand would still be there. Ben Gordon could have been kept on the Bulls. It would have been interesting to see a Bull’s team with Ben Gordon, Elton Brand, Ron Artest and Kirk Hinrich. Derrick Rose could have actually helped the Pacers but things didn’t happen that way for a reason.

It is interesting how Ron Artest and Brad Miller had been traded from the Bulls to the Indiana Pacers in 2002. They even played together in Sacramento. Brad Miller currently is back in Chicago while Ron Artest is on the Lakers. This brings back the memory of the Bulls vs. Lakers video game that was popular on Sega Genesis.

The third quarter began with a severe cold streak. Both teams were unable to score for the first 4:33 of the quarter. The pace of the action hadn’t been slow throughout the quarter. Given that the game was close, the competitive nature of the game was high by default. Most of the third quarter was physical which lead to a scuffle between Kirk Hinrich and Jamal Tinsley.

After Jermaine O’Neal had been fouled hard by Luol Deng, a shoving match ensued which developed into a Sportscenter noteworthy brawl. Some fans got rambunctious. The most notable showdown was between a man wearing a Michael Jordan jersey and one wearing an old Ron Artest Pacers jersey. They were shoving each other.

“You see this,” pointed the fan wearing Ron Artest Pacers jersey, “unlike when he was on your team, when he got to Indiana he became a star in the league. When he was here he was a nobody. He sucked!”

“Well, so what. You see this.” The fan was pointing to the Jordan jersey. “This is greatness. He was mopping the floor with you guys. Your boyfriend Reggie Miller couldn’t do a thing about it. All he could do was take an ass whoopin’ like a man.”

“Is that why Reggie used to score so many threes on you guys?”

“It wasn’t us. It was the Knicks.”

“It was both you guys. You guys were Reggie’s bitches!”

The man in the Jordan jersey decked the guy in the Ron Artest Pacers jersey. They began to tuggle with each other. Meanwhile, security had been alerted. A security team rushed over as soon as possible. It had been too noisy in the arena for everyone to hear the scuffle. This brief fight had to be played in the arena. Ron Artest looked at it from his courtside seat and proceeded to laugh.

“Now that’s damn good entertainment,” he laughed. “I think I need a beer to wash it all down.”

Fines were issued to Kirk Hinrich, Jamal Tinsley, Jermaine O’Neal and Luol Deng for their roles in the altercations that took place during the game. Sure enough, the altercations were covered on Sportscenter and analysts were saying that the fights on the court were out of control and that more suspensions needed to be handed out. Many felt that the fines weren’t enough.

Well, I see your love of sports translates over into your writing. Thank you for sharing with my readers and good luck on the book!

If you’d like to learn more about N.S. Ugezene and their work check out the following links:

Publisher: Lulu/Ugez Novels

MySpace: http://www.myspace.com/ns_ugezene

Website: http://stores.lulu.com/NSUgezene

Blog: http://nsugezblogs.blogspot.com

Facebook: Search for N.S. Ugezene

Other:

http://www.tagged.com/nsu1982

http://www.blackplanet.com/BlackCasper2001

Leave a Reply

