Interview with Kayelle Allen

Welcome to a special edition of The Fox Hole on this gloriously humid Friday morning August 20, 2010. Despite my insistence that I’ve got my brain sorted and the pup and I have settled in we apparently are not as settled as we thought. Long story short there was a mess up on e-mail addresses and this interview is late. Thankfully my guest today had the sense that I and the pup are lacking and managed to contact me.

Bless her heart she was incredibly understanding and resent all her material. So please grab a cup of Joe, pastry of your choice, take a seat, and help the pup and I give Ms. Kayelle Allen a warm welcome to my insane little corner of the universe.

Thank you so much for giving me a pass on my moment of senility and joining us at The Fox Hole Kayelle, it’s a delight to have you. We usually start with our guests telling our readers a little bit about themselves.

I spent four years in the US Navy, where I met Mr. Right. We’re still crazy about each other. I like to photograph nature, go hiking, and I enjoy movies. I’ve never missed an episode of 24, and this is its eighth season. I can’t watch it more than once because I would probably have a heart attack. I scream “Noooooo!” at the clock at the end of each episode. I love movies and the whole theater experience. I’ve seen Avatar three times and I’m planning to go again next weekend. Others I’ve seen more than once — at the theater — were The Last of the Mohicans (3), Contact (4), Star Wars (all of them, twice each), the Matrix (first movie, twice), Jurassic Park (3), and The Dark Knight (2).

Glad to know I’m not the only serial movie watcher out there. 😀 Kayelle, have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

My mother taught me how to read when I was quite young. By eight, I was devouring SciFi books, because my parents always had them around. Mother was also a writer, and her love of words rubbed off on me. I wrote my first novel at eighteen, but had little confidence in my writing at the time. Over the years, I picked up the book, messed with it, and put it back. Finally, I decided that I’d waited long enough. I got out a scrap of a scene, altered it a bit, and started writing a new story based on the original. It was published less than six months later.

Wow, that’s amazing! So many writers struggle to get published, but it looks as if when you set your mind to something you just jump right in head first. Inspiration is one of the things I love to talk about with writers. As a writer what inspires you?

Everything. I get ideas from everywhere. Conversations, a bus ride, waiting at the airport, going for a walk, talking on a phone, even commercials on TV. I will buy a movie that inspires me and watch a certain scene repeatedly, studying the actors’ movements or expressions. For example, the trailer for Hellboy 2: the Golden Army had only flashes of the character Prince Nuada, played by Luke Goss, but when it came out on DVD in 2008, I bought the two-disk set and studied every move Goss made. He was so much like Pietas, one of my characters (from a book that had come out four years prior) that it was eerie. Someone on Youtube made a tribute video about Prince Nuada, using the song Frozen (by Madonna) as the theme. I went out and bought the song because it fit so perfectly. It’s now the theme for Pietas. Each of my characters has playlists, and when I’m writing them, I listen to their music. In Surrender Love, and now in Surrender Trust, the sequel, when I write about Rah from Luc’s pov, I listen to Rah’s music. When I’m writing Luc from Rah’s pov, I listen to Luc’s. It helps me see them more clearly.

Frozen is one of my favorite Madonna songs. Now I’m going to have to check out Pietas if his theme is that song. I find it haunting and deeply emotional. Most writers I’ve interviewed are voracious readers as well. Do you have any favorite writers?

Oh, my. How much space can I take up? LOL Okay, my see-it-buy-it list is fairly short. Helen Kirkman, Lynn Viehl, Raven Hart, Janet E Jones, Kiernan Kelly, and Karen Marie Moning. I know they deliver great stories with characters that live and breathe while you’re reading.

Characterization is a huge thing for me as a reader as well as a writer. It doesn’t matter where the story takes place if the characters aren’t there neither will I be. And speaking of places here’s one of my favorite questions. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

Right here, right now. I don’t dwell on the past, even though history fascinates me, and although I write Science Fiction, I’m more comfortable in a world where I know I belong.

I hear that a lot from writers. Maybe it’s because we spend so many hours traveling in our heads that we just appreciate the home we have when we shut off that computer. Now here is a question I have to ask for a couple of reasons. One is that I was a professional cook at one time and another is that I believe the tastes of an individual can give you a peek at anyone’s personality. Do you have a favorite food?

You mean other than chocolate? ^_^ Eggplant Parmesan. I pretty much like eggplant anything, actually.

Who doesn’t like chocolate? I’m a self-professed chocoholic myself. I don’t think I’ve ever had someone tell me eggplant though. LOL Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back.

AudioLark released an audio version of The Last Vhalgenn. This story is from an anthology that was a 2008 EPPIE Finalist in Fantasy.

Avail @ AudioLark

The Last Vhalgenn (audio book)

AudioLark http://tinyurl.com/audiotlv

If she takes the newborn prince to the queen’s homeland for a ritual blessing in the Old Ways, who–or what–will she bring back?

For centuries, the Vhalgenn have loved the kings or queens they were born to serve. Bedmates, soulmates, companions and friends, the Vhalgenn know no other master, they obey no other lord. Until the final plea of a dying queen commands betrayal by the Last Vhalgenn.

Antonello Brothers 1: At the Mercy of Her Pleasure

Avail @ Loose Id

(a Tarthian Empire Book)

Loose Id http://www.loose-id.com/At-the-Mercy-of-Her-Pleasure.aspx

When NarrAy steals a kiss from the hot young thief she hired, Senth steals her heart, but how far will he go to keep it?

At eighteen, Senth Antonello already holds a lofty position in the elite Thieves’ Guild. Drugged since puberty to suppress his feral half-feline side, nothing suppresses his human half, a daredevil who lives for risk. When his master hires him out to a Better, an enhanced woman with addictive, pleasure-laced pheromones, the man offers him a deal too good to pass up. One job and his master will buy Senth’s cruelly enslaved older brother and free him. The job is a grab-and-go. The downside? He’ll be a virgin forever. The drug he takes ensures it, no matter how tempting the woman or her pheromones.

Captain NarrAy Jorlan of the Resistance is twenty-five, a career officer, and determined to regain the technology stolen from her murdered parents. Hiring a pro to steal it back is her best option. Unlike most Betters, NarrAy masters her pheromones, and no hint of her scent escapes. But every moment with this sexually inexperienced, younger thief makes her wet and ravenous, eager to taste and touch every inch of his body. Surely, she can steal one little kiss from a thief. How could that possibly put him at the mercy of her pleasure?

Avail @ Loose Id

Antonello Brothers 2: For Women Only (a Tarthian Empire Book)

Buy link: http://www.loose-id.com/For-Women-Only.aspx OR http://tinyurl.com/fwo-khyff

ISBN: 978-1-60737-435-0

Khyff is a master of pleasure with a tortured soul. Can Kin Ambassador Mehfawni Ruh redeem the man her people destroyed, or will he destroy her for trying?

When Kin Ambassador Mehfawni Ruh visits the capitol planet of the Tarthian Empire, she meets the human Khyff Antonello, a master of pleasure who satisfies her every craving for illicit and taboo sex. She expected a fling, but found love. Upon discovering her own people devastated his family, she longs to restore all they destroyed, but some tragedies can never be reversed. Her family demands she cast out the human, for if she keeps Khyff, she must deny her heritage and abdicate her future as ruler of her world. Mehfawni searches for an alternative, and stumbles upon Khyff’s darkest secret. Now, she must decide — is his fragile trust the response of love and a healing heart — or a ruse for revenge?

Sounds like you’ve been a busy little bee. I’ll have to add these to my never ending read list! Unfortunately, our time has come to and end for now, but I would love to thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to visit with us. You’re welcome to pop in anytime.

If you’d like to learn more about Kayelle Allen and her work check out the following links:

Publishers:   Loose Id, AudioLark, Liquid Silver Books, Shadowfire Press, Wolfsinger Publications.

MySpace:  Romance Lives Forever on Myspace

Website: http://kayelleallen.com

Blog: My personal blog is called Romance Lives Forever and I’m one of about twenty other authors on a new blog called Romance Writers Behaving Badly When we post, we strive to live down to the name. 😉

Twitter: http://twitter.com/kayelleallen

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/kayelleallen

Yahoo group: Romance Lives Forever

http://groups.yahoo.com/group/romancelivesforever

Forum: CoffeeTime Romance  http://coffeetimeromance.com/board/

Other Blogs:

The Romance Studio Blue http://trsblue.blogspot.com/

The Rainbow Studio http://therainbowstudio.blogspot.com/

Romance Roll Call (Military women who write Romance) http://romancerollcall.com/

YouTube: http://www.youtube.com/user/kayelleallen/

6 comments on “Interview with Kayelle Allen

  1. thank you for hosting me, Jesse. I’ve been off telling everyone about your adorable little pup and his (her?) cute ears. What a darling! I want one for my very own. Pup, that is, not an ear. ^_^

    So no one’s ever mentioned eggplant before? How weird! I love that stuff almost any way you make it. I have a favorite deli where you can get eggplant sandwiches. The slices are battered and deep fried, drained, and served on toasted italian bread with a dollop of marinara and a nice portion of mozzarella. Okay, I know the fried part isn’t good for you, so I only eat it that way about once a year.

    • You are welcome my dear! My little fox pup just captured my heart. Being a pagan I believe in spirit animals and the fox seems to follow me about. When I saw him (yes a him) I knew he was the perfect face for my blog; those huge ears and big dark eyes are the cat’s meow (or should I say fox’s bark).

      Nope, never on the eggplant. Although I have to say that the eggplant sandwich sounds absolutely yummy. I myself enjoy Eggplant Parmesan thanks to a head chef who insisted that if you cooked it you had to try it before it was served. If not for him I would have never touched eggplant.

      Yeah, the frying part, not so good, but I came from a family where fried and gravy covered was the only way to eat. LOL

  2. I saw your post on Facebook, Kayelle, and had to come see what crazy food it was that you picked! Eggplant…that’s a good one. And probably a good reflection of your insanity. I mean, who loves big purple veggies? :~)

    Enjoyed the interview and the cute doggie picture!

    Monica McCabe

  3. Pingback: 2010 in review – Thank You to my Readers | Jesse Fox

Leave a Reply

