Interview with Author Kenzie Michaels

Good morning and welcome to the September 12, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole! My guest today is Freya’s Bower author Kenzie Michaels. So folks, grab that cup of Joe, one of those pumpkin muffins (after all fall has arrived), pull up a seat, and help the Pup and I give Kenzie a fabulous welcome!

Coming Soon @ Freya's Bower

Welcome to ‘The Fox Hole’ Kenzie we’re tickled to have you here on this sunny autumn day. We’d like to start out by having you introduce yourselves to the readers and tell them a little bit about yourself?

Thanks for having me Jesse! I’m Kenzie Michaels, author of adult contemporary romance. My second book, Teacher’s Pet, should be hitting the Freya’s Bower site any day now, and I have four other manuscripts waiting to be accepted. I live in southern Indiana with my husband, two teenagers, a first-grader, and an assortment of pets.

Sounds like you have a full and busy life. I can’t imagine having three kids and writing. Hell just my muses and the Pup clutter up my life enough. *chuckles* I’m impressed. Kenzie, have you always wanted to be a writer? And if so when did you start writing?

While I discovered the art of writing stories in the 5th grade, it wasn’t until four years later I dreamed of having my own book of fairy tales, as most of my stories began with ‘Once Upon A Time’. I also wrote my own ending to Star Wars, but in hindsight, I focused mainly on rescuing Han Solo and getting he and Princess Leia back together. No mention of Darth Vader or his relationship to Luke, LOL! Maybe it foreshadowed my love of romance?

I didn’t write much more in high school; by then, other interests were more on my mind, such as marching band and boys. So I would have to say college is when I seriously began writing.

There are some of us that take a more winding road to that decision. Trust me I get it. I myself didn’t really decide until I was thirty if you believe that. 😛 One of the biggest things in a writer’s life is inspiration. As a writer what inspires you?

Life inspires me, as does the intricate relationships between people. Call it Fate or Predestination, or even Divine Guidance, but why do certain people enter our lives? What circumstances lead to choosing Person A over Person B? I wrote my first story as a What If situation. What would happen if two lovers met again under completely different conditions, three years later? Would they still feel the same toward each other, or had Time moved on?

That’s a fantastic way of approaching stories that involve relationships. For me you hit it on the nose. What if? is one of my favorite approaches to writing. Most writers I’ve interviewed are voracious readers as well. Do you have any favorite writers?

Oh lord…too many to mention. Favorite print authors include a wide variety: Robin Cook, Michael Palmer, John Irving, James Patterson, Sophie Kinsella, Marion Keyes, Phillipa Gregory, Nora Roberts, Catherine Coulter, and Lavyrle Spencer. Favorite E-authors include Cindy Spencer Pape, Anny Cook, Tymber Dalton, Brynn Paulin, Bronwyn Green, Mona Risk, Regina Carlysle, Ashley Ladd, Sandra Cox….the list goes on.

I see a few of my favorites on that list. Being a successful writer I really do believe you have to be appreciative of the written word no matter the form it takes. This question always seems to give readers a sense of a writer’s personality in my opinion. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I love the pre-Civil War era. Would I choose to live there? I’m not sure. I like my modern conveniences too well! I jokingly say if I could have a do-over, I’d go back to 1987 and start over. I wasted an opportunity my senior year of college and often wonder how my life would have been different. Of course, I’d like the Captain Picard (Star Trek TNG) option of being able to choose which outcome!

I think most of us have at least one point in our lives that we think of that way. Especially if we’re a What if? thinker. Now this is one of my favorite questions. Being a professional cook at one time, I believe food is an important clue to the type of person one is or can be. It’s one of the most important things we chose that affects our life. From type to even the way we consume our meals. Do you have a favorite food?

You mean beside chocolate? Hahaha…I’m a total carb junkie. I love pasta, homemade bread, and French fries. I also love chicken…but not fried, unless you’re talking Chicken Nuggets. I have a favorite Wolfgang Puck recipe which my kids love and demand once a month.

Welcome to the Carb-Junkie Club, Kenzie! I’m the same way and often say I possess only a couple of bad habits and chocolate is one of them. *snickers* I’m starting to believe chocolate is a required dietary habit for writers. 😉 Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

Teacher’s Pet came about when another author challenged me to write an erotic scene instead of sensual. I’m thankful the kids weren’t home when I began writing it; I blushed every time I wrote a buzz word. I then decided to make it my first NaNo project, to see if I could maintain the heat level. Surprise, I did…and afterward was soooo sick of my characters and the storyline, I put it away and didn’t touch it for three months. I immediately cut about 1000 words from it, and was happy with the overall story. Some self-edits and a title change, and I felt ready to send it off into the big bad world. It was accepted on the first try, and I’m now awaiting edits.

You definitely got lucky with the acceptance right out the gate. Now I see you’ve offered us a peek at that book. So without further ado let’s give my readers a peek at Teacher’s Pet!

Blurb for Teacher’s Pet:

What happens when you discover the man you had mind-blowing sex with three months ago is your son’s teacher? Tammy Saunders is horrified when she realizes the man who set her heart racing is her son’s favorite teacher. With one bad relationship behind her, will she trust her heart again, or will she continue to deny her feminine side?

And is this particular teacher popular only with his students? Kevin has made some bad choices in his life, but sleeping with not only one, but now two, of his students’ mothers, has got to be the worst mistake he ever made. Especially when he realizes he’s lost his heart to one of them.

Excerpt from Teacher’s Pet:

“Could we please talk about my son?” she asked, teeth clenched. Stay cool…count to ten…Her hand felt like it was on fire from where he’d touched his lips to her skin. Images flashed through her brain as she remembered the reckless way they’d crashed together in the front seat of his car, and she moved another step farther away from his commanding presence. She cleared her throat nervously. “I mean, that is why you called.”

“I lied.” He locked the door, causing a flash of alarm. “You’ve haunted me for months, Tammy. I go to sleep at night, and you’re in my dreams. I catch sight of a woman whose hair cascades down her back and try to catch sight of her face, hoping it’s you.” His eyes held her blue ones as he slowly moved closer. “Don’t tell me you haven’t thought of me these past months…”

His blatant arrogance and cocky manner struck a chord within her. “Thought of you?” she gasped, curling her lips into what she hoped was a sneer. “Oh, right. Let me see if I have this correctly. We have mind-blowing sex, I run off to collect my kids, and you’re telling me that you, Mr. Obviously Popular, can’t sleep at night because the poor sex-starved widow never bothered to tell you her name? Is your ego that fragile?” She laughed. “Believe me, I’ve lost no sleep over it.” She crossed her arms defiantly over her chest, hoping he wouldn’t notice her knees shake as he drew near.

“Then let me refresh your memory.” His lips closed over hers as his arms pulled her stiffly forward. His tongue prodded between her lips and with a quiet moan, she opened them slightly.

Encouraged, he made small circles on her back as her tongue answered his. But she remained stiff, and when he finally ended the kiss, her eyes had darkened to a midnight blue. He moved his hands to her shoulders and traced her lower lip with his thumb. “You’re telling me you feel nothing? Your body betrays you.”

Wow! *fans self* That looks like one hot book! 🙂 Another for my future reading list. Unfortunately our time has come to an end, Kenzie, but I would like to thank you for taking the time to join us today. You’re welcome to stop by anytime you like in the future.

Reader’s if you’d like to learn more about Kenzie Michaels and her work check out the following links:

Publisher: www.freyasbower.com

MySpace: www.myspace.com/mollyjdaniels

Website: www.mollydaniels.wordpress.com

Blog: http://kenziemichaels.blogspot.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/KenzieMichaels

Facebook: www.facebook.com/mollydaniels

In case you’ve noticed, Kenzie’s alter ego (Molly Daniels), who writes Women’s Fiction, lets her tag along on her sites, with the exception of her blog and Twitter.

7 comments on “Interview with Author Kenzie Michaels

  1. Pingback: Blog Interviewer

Leave a Reply

