Interview with Barbara Meyers

Welcome to the September 29, 2010 edition of The Fox Hole. After much hair-pulling and cussing (the poor Pup’s ears were burning) Word Press finally righted itself and allowed me to post today’s interview. All I can say is that my guest must be the most patient author on the planet and just a lovely person in general considering all the hooey that had to be shoveled to get to this point. 😀 So readers pull up a comfy chair, grab a cup of Joe and one of those cream cheese-iced pumpkin muffins, then help me give a true Fox Hole welcome to the miraculous Ms. Barbara Meyers!

Avail @ Samhain Publishing

I’m delighted to finally welcome you to ‘The Fox Hole’ Barbara. We usually start out by having you tell the readers a little bit about yourself?

I live in Southwest Florida. I’ve been married for thirty years and have two grown children. For the past seven years I’ve worked at a Starbucks near my home. I joke that I’m just there for the story ideas, but the truth is, I need an escape from the solitary writer’s life and I also need health insurance. It’s a fun, convenient job and they let me do book signings every now and again.

That’s a great job to have being as it works for you on more than one level. I know a great deal of writers I’ve interviewed knew early on they wanted to write. What about you? Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

I can’t say I grew up thinking I’d be a fiction writer. If I’d pursued a college degree, my interests were psychology and journalism. It’s more accurate to say I was always a voracious reader. I started writing book-length fiction twenty-plus years ago after throwing a disappointing romance novel across the room and declaring, “I can write better than that!”

Well then we have a few things in common. I came close to going into psychology (sadly I was unable to finish college) and much like you my frustrations with published material helped turn me in the direction writing.

Many things can inspire one to write, but as a writer what inspires you?

Everything. Snatches of conversation, stories of families and friends, something I see on the news. I’ve begun a contemporary urban fantasy series called GRINDING REALITY, set in a Starbucks-like environment where swallowing a magic coffee bean triggers out-of-body experiences. Take any one idea and keep asking “what if?” Pretty soon you’ve got a story.

Yes! What if is the bread and butter as I call it of the writer’s trade. It’s something I’ve heard from nearly every writer I’ve interviewed. Earlier you stated that you’ve always been a voracious reader. Could you share if you have any favorite writers?

Yes, but you don’t have space for me to name them all. Karen Robards, Sandra Brown, Susan Elizabeth Phillips, and Lisa Unger are a few.

Don’t we all have too many to name? 😉 Now this is one of my favorite questions to ask. I personally feel the answer tells a great deal about a writer. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

I like where I am right now. I have a pretty easy life compared to women of the past. Can you imagine giving up hot and cold running water? A dishwasher? Your blow dryer? I like my independence and the right to vote, so I don’t want to revert to the past. Nor do I know what the future holds, so I’m not that anxious to get there.

You won’t get an argument from me on that. Visit maybe, but I’m too independent as a woman to deal with a life other than my very modern one.

My other favorite question is this next one. Being a professional cook at one time, I believe tastes in food reflect the personality of any individual. It tells you a lot including sometimes a person’s upbringing and the area they grew up in. Do you have a favorite food?

If I’m getting the chair and putting in my last meal request, give me a big bag of potato chips and some French onion dip so I can die happy.

French onion dip…now that train I can get on. 😀 Okay, since I’m finished picking your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back!

My latest published work is a romantic comedy entitled A MONTH FROM MIAMI, released by Samhain Publishing, first as an e-Book and then as a trade paperback. It’s an unapologetic beach read for those of us looking for a temporary escape from reality.

Kaylee, an out-of-work hairdresser dreams of reinventing herself as a sophisticated city girl in Miami when her old car breaks down in a tiny town in north Florida. Single dad mechanic Rick offers a trade: a month of babysitting for free car repairs. Kaylee doesn’t know it but both a jewel thief and the FBI are hot on her trail.

The next book in what I hope will be a trilogy features Rick’s twin brother Ray in A FOREVER KIND OF GUY. The manuscript is in my Samhain editor’s inbox at the moment.

I had an idea for three connected books with heroines with rhyming names: Kaylee, Haylee and Baylee. The hero of the third book is Hayley’s pro football player ex-husband. (I had to change the spelling of her name because it was too confusing.) While revising A FOREVER KIND OF GUY, I got an idea for a fourth connected book based on a secondary male character. He’ll go from being a gang member to being a cop.

Readers always want to share their story ideas with authors, but I think you can see why we demur. We have too many ideas of our own running around in our heads.

Definitely get that. If I had any more ideas in my head it would explode. I often want to smack my friends when they start setting off plot bunnies like fireworks at me. No help required in the idea department. LOL

I see you’ve brought along an excerpt from A Month from Miami so let’s get this show on the road!

Excerpt from A Month from Miami

“How do you like it?” she asked.

She was standing in front of him, combing his hair over his forehead which put him at about eye level with her bustline. “I like it. Very much.”

She glanced down as he grinned up at her. She was blushing. She blushed more than any woman he’d ever known. She moved behind him. “I meant your hair.”

“Any way you like it.”

“Not too short, I suppose.”

“No one’s ever complained that it’s too short.”

“It’s pretty thick.”

“You’re the expert.”

“How long has it been?”

“About twenty-four hours.”

“Since your last haircut?”

“Oh. Couple of months, I guess.”

“It grows fast.”

“Under the right circumstances.”

“Rick…” There was a definite strain in Kaylee’s tone. “Don’t make this harder than it is.”

Rick squirmed uncomfortably, not sure if it was Kaylee’s close proximity or his own double entendres, but he was definitely turned on. “I think it’s too late.”

“I’m cutting now. Sit still and stop talking.”

Could there be anything more intimate than having a lover’s hands in your hair, Rick wondered. Well, of course, there could be, but Kaylee’s hands in his hair were conjuring up all sorts of images of her hands elsewhere on his body. It was exquisite torture to have her so close, yet hardly touching him. He followed her movements as best he could while he kept his head still. He gazed at her elbow, her breasts where they strained against the cotton of her sleeveless top.

Snip. Snip. Snip. Wisps of his hair floated to the floor as she worked in a silence broken only by the low hum of country music from the radio which sat on top of the refrigerator.

She moved around him from side to side, concentrating on the haircut. Then she moved in front of him and bent closer, combing his hair, visually examining it on either side of his head until her gaze met his.

“Could you, uh, spread your legs?”

“Gladly.”

Rick did so and she straightened and stepped between them. She raised her arm and the hem of her top rose with the movement of her shoulder, revealing her tiny waist and her navel. How much torture could one man take?

Snip.

Rick couldn’t help himself. He placed his hands around her waist beneath her top. Her skin felt like warm satin. How well he remembered the feel of her skin against his. He breathed in her scent along with the faint aroma of grape-flavored bubble gum.

“Kaylee…”

Snip.

He leaned forward, lifted her top and skimmed his lips across her stomach.

Snip.

“Oops.”

Well, you’ve gotten my attention Barbara and I hope that goes for my readers as well. Unfortunately, our time as come to an end, but you’re welcome back any time. Perhaps, we’ll have a little less drama next time. *chuckles*

If you would like to learn more about Barbara Meyers and her work check out the following links:

Publishers:

Avalon Bookshttp://www.avalonbooks.com/

Samhain Publishinghttp://samhainpublishing.com/authors/barbara-meyers

Website: www.barbmeyers.com

Blog: http://barbmeyers.wordpress.com/

Facebook: I’m on Facebook but I’ve been told I’m hard to find.

Leave a Reply

