Interview with Don Luis de la Cosa

Welcome to the October 12, 2010 installment of The Fox Hole! Despite my blog’s best attempts to drive me nuttier than a Christmas fruitcake with its gleaming candied fruit I still managed to get this one posted. Today I have author Don Luis de la Cosa as my guest so grab a cup of Joe, help yourself to a home-baked cookie, and pull up a chair. Don’t forget though to give Don a warm welcome.

Good Morning, Don Luis, and welcome to my little corner of the universe. Could you start by telling us a little bit about yourself?

I’m a Bronx boy, I’ve lived in the Midwest, the Southwest, the Southeast, the Northeast, visited the Northwest, driven across country plenty, ridden motorcycles for thousands of miles, was a sexual deviant waaaaayyyy before it was cool, and claim heritage from South America. I’ve written across the spectrum of sexuality, and have participated in the erotica writing community since 2004. I was also the editor of a site that did reviews of erotic films, for a time…

Wow! You’ve managed to accomplish a great deal in your life. 😀 Have you always wanted to be a writer? If so when did you start writing?

This is always an interesting self-reflective question. The short answer is no. I didn’t. However, as time went on, and I continued to write, and people continued to comment on my work, I continued to produce, and hone my skills. An interesting tidbit – I wrote what might be considered my first erotic piece during my adolescence.

You know there are few writers that have offered a no on this question. I was beginning to think 99% of writers always knew. LOL I’m one of those like you who started later in life and I’m not even sure where the inspiration started to be honest. Speaking of inspiration what inspires you?

Coloring outside the lines. Participating in as much kinky and extravagant behavior as possible. Reading from as many intellectual fields as possible. Currently, I’m back in school for another graduate degree. I advise all writers to be as well learned as they can possible, and that doesn’t mean sitting in a Barnes and Noble swallowing books in the afternoons. Not that there isn’t a certain value in that, but you have to be well trained in something. There’s a phenomenally disheartening current of anti-intellectualism in the country at the moment, the fires of which are steadily being stoked by things like the rise of the new right, and the slashing of school budgets across the country despite $26 Billion in funds being released to prevent it. Fight it! Stay in school! Get a degree (or three)!

I agree completely with this, but I’m a bit embarrassed to say I haven’t managed to get a degree. Part of my problem–I can’t decide where to start. My mother was a proponent of learning and I’ve done most of my learning outside of the classroom.

Most folks I’ve interviewed have been voracious readers. Do you have any favorite writers?

Ufff, where to start? I read in two languages, so there are many that may sound obscure: Jorge Ramos, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Mario Vargas LLosa (of recent Nobel Laureate fame), Jorge Luis Borges – especially Bestiario –  Pablo Neruda, Julio Cortazar, Mario Benedetti, Mario Puig, William Gibson, Phillip K. Dick, Robert Heinlein, I used to have a penchant for Stephen King’s fantasy literature, but I just can’t get into most of his horror stuff for some reason. Not because it’s bad, nor because I don’t enjoy horror, quite the contrary. I don’t quite know what the disconnect is. Tanith Lee, Laurell K Hamilton, Lisabet Sarai – her more horror slanted stuff (see, I told ya!) Alphons Donatien Marquis de Sade – I think EVERYONE should read him. Bram Stoker, The Vampires, Wine, and Roses anthology contains a huge number of fantastic authors. Robert Asprin, is ingenious. I’ve recently been getting back into reading classics – The original Lewis Carroll version of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is intensely cerebral, and not at all the idea that was marketed by Disney. Victor Hugo has presently become a focal point for me as well for various reasons.

You weren’t kidding when you said ‘where to start?’ what a wonderful list of authors. I’ve read Lewis Carroll myself when I was younger and you are absolutely correct. There are numerous layers to his stories that zoom right past most peoples head. Sadly, I believe Disney has warped rather than promoted such literary material.

One of my favorite questions is this one. If you could live in any time or place–where and when would you choose?

In the futurotic, post-apocalyptic, cyberpunkish New York City of my forthcoming novella, Alisuru.

You’ve made my day with that creative answer. I think perhaps you’re the first writer to even go to that particular place. I find a writer’s choice can say a great deal about them just as I believe a person’s taste in food opens a doorway to their personality. So, I have to ask this one having been a professional cook at one time. Do you have a favorite food?

Also having been a professional cook at one time, I can safely respond: no I do not. Food, it seems, is my favorite food.

That must be the curse of the professional cook. I could never narrow it down myself, but you’re the only other pro cook I’ve ran into in the publishing world. Now that I’ve picked your brain, can you tell us about your latest work? Don’t hold back…

I’ve had to put a lot of things on pause recently since I’m back in school. I was barreling along on a pair of novel projects, one in Steampunk era NYC, which is about half-way finished, the other a Spanish language magical realism type text that is set in modern/later-than-now NYC. It’s a difficulty attempting to keep all of the voices in my head in order. I still have to finish editing ‘Rain’, my M/M vampire novella, and getting that all together. I should do that before Halloween, I guess, shouldn’t I? But for Vampire erotica lovers, there’s always my F/F Vamprotica piece in Xcite Books’ ‘Spirit Lovers’. Run don’t walk to your nearest e-book vendor, it’ll change your late October holiday!

Well, you’ve definitely got me putting on my running shoes! Thank you so much for taking the time to visit with us, Don. I’d love to have you back anytime and good luck on all your endeavors.

Want to learn more about Don Luis de la Cosa and his work check out the following links:

Publisher/s:

Xcite Books: www.xcitebooks.com

STARbooks Press: www.starbookspress.com

Phaze: www.phaze.com

Drollerie Press: drollerie.com

CreateSpace: www.createspace.com

Website: Still need someone to do the development for me. Or maybe I’ll get around to it myself soon. But not yet…

Blog: http://donluisdelacosa.blogspot.com

Twitter: twitter.com/donluisdelacosa

Facebook: Don Luis de la Cosa

Other: Amazon Author’s Page

Leave a Reply

